Getting Started


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nebraska » Lincoln
September 13th 2010
Published: September 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So this is the beginning of my blogging experience. My intention for starting this blog was to document my travels/adventures for my upcoming season in Antarctica. In order to give a full spectrum of the experience and to learn more about blogging, I have decided to start with a quick illustration of preparations and training leading up to deployment in October.
Currently I am sitting in Lincoln NE. enjoying all the culture this fine place has to offer, and surprisingly, even to myself I am not being sarcastic. The town is actually quite nice maybe a little isolated form all things that I have grown accustom to growing up in california but the downtown area is quaint, and the surrounding landscape is not flat, however it is covered with corn and soybeans. This weekend I attended a Nebraska football game with over 85,000 other people all dressed in red and me in blue. Although the game was quite one-sided the experience was unique and well worth the price of admission. Sunday was spent driving the countryside looking for lakes and even jumping in on one occasion. The surrounding are is actually quite lovely, not that I am eager to build a summer home here, and in fact I anxious to get back to the mountains and sandy beaches of California but I was pleasantly surprised.
Other preparations for the trip involved a 14 day stay in Gunnison/Crested Butte CO. Where my time was spent at a Wilderness First Responder Course. This trip was well worth my time and I am now the field camps one and only medic. Leisure time was spent climbing, hiking, and mountain biking in Crested Butte. What an amazing adventure that was. The town was amazing the scenery was breathtaking and the people were friendly and interesting. I do hope that one day I will find myself back in that town for a longer stay.
This concludes my first "Travel Blog" although I do hope the context changes to more exciting adventures, however you will all have to deal with the grammatical and spelling issues.

Be Happy,

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb