Rubbish


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
October 5th 2010
Published: October 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Magnet Bay Magnet Bay Magnet Bay

We were looking for surf, this spot did not provide us with what we needed

Well what can I say about New Zealand... Although the extent of my visit has been limited, from what I can tell this place basically rocks. The people are nice, the weather is amazing, the city is full of parks and all of a sudden I am the one with the accent, sweet, I has always wanted an accent. Upon arrival in Christchurch my first order of business was some Yoga on the Balcony of my hotel, followed by a brisk jog through the botanical gardens, where I was constantly struggling to pass people on the left. Yes that's right not only do they drive on the wrong side of the road but they walk on the wrong side of the path as well. Lucky for me the sun still sets in the west, however the toilets spin the opposite way, as do the drunken spins, that one really messed with me. Besides that its the little things that make this place fun, they call their trash, rubbish and their silverware, cutlery, which I suppose makes more sense because it is not made of silver, however spoons and forks don't cut so their. As for myself I am doing
Baby's Baby's Baby's

I guess it is that time of the year, cuz these little guys were everywhere.
well, no jet lag to speak of as of yet. I have been meditating 2hrs/day since arrival. Combine that with the fact that I am a vegetarian, yogaholic and don't drink coffee, and it looks like I am a healthy person. So much so that my team is calling me their resident "Grasshopper", hahahahah fooled you. I am just as imperfect as the rest of the human race.
Last night was my first earthquake experience, that's sad considering I am from California. At 10:30 I was awakened by a 5.0 quake, followed by another one this morning during my morning meditation. Funny thing about the one this morning is I felt nauseous and queasy moments before the quake hit, and as I learned in the movie Phenomenon, the ULF (Ultra Low Frequency) waves prior to an earthquake can make you nauseous. Not that I am claiming that that is what I felt, far from it I think i was just hungry, or maybe because of the meditative state I did pick up a little something extra.
I went to some Hot Water Drill training today, and it was very informative, however I feel that no amount of power
Surfing NZSurfing NZSurfing NZ

Surfed southern ocean...check, well sort of.
point or question and answer can compete with old fashion hands on experience. I found it difficult to visualize the drill process as I have never done it before. however it did give me a good overview and I am anxious to get started on the Ice. Stay tuned for further adventures and pictures are coming.

Be Happy,

Graham Roberts


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

HobbitownHobbitown
Hobbitown

Not really
NZ LandscapeNZ Landscape
NZ Landscape

This place is super lush


5th October 2010

wow sounds like a very trippy place to be with all the opposites and earthquakes. I hope there are no big ones while u are there! Cheerio!
18th October 2010

hey you didn't tell me u went surfing! thats so awesome, is the break opposite?
18th October 2010
Baby's

oh my god! they are sooooooooooo cute i cant even take it, i know u took this picture for me :)

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb