Day 1 - Kennewick, WA - Missoula, MT


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Missoula
July 31st 2013
Published: August 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Let me just say....it was a camel kind of day!

First off, Kennewick, WA....When I had stayed here a few years ago, it was very nice and seemed like a great place. With that said...that place is a bleep dirty bleep hole! They need to do some serious litter patrol there. I won’t go back.

Once we left, we headed SE towards Walla Walla , WA. We stopped at the Whitman Mission. I was mistaken when I said they were Mormons. They were actually Protestants who setup a Mission. After 11 years they were massacred by the Cayuse Indians. I can’t remember why that was the case..I can only assume they did something to them since they lived in peace for so many years. I have to read the book again. Need to find it on Amazon.

Now...on to the Camel....How often do you see a Camel outside of a zoo on hump day? Well we did. We came around the corner and I screamed, “OMG, it is a camel”. I grabbed my phone and got a shot of the said camel. We are still laughing about that.

Once we got to Lewiston, ID, we followed the Clearwater River for approximately 150 miles. Personally, it seemed more like a creek rather than a river. I think Umpqua and McKenzie when I think river. It was a beautiful winding drive and worth the extra two hours.

I am getting 33 miles to the gallon with my car and it took us approximately 1 ¾ to get to Missoula, MT our final destination today.

Well off to dinner...tomorrow we are heading east to Granite Ghost Town and will finish our day in Billings, MT. We will be meeting the kids soon! They are having a blast in Canada!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



2nd August 2013

Great
The pict were awesome! what a beautiful place. cant wate for more, safe travels. love ya

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb