Day 4 - Fargo, ND to Miles City, MT


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Miles City
November 20th 2012
Published: November 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Fargo to Miles City


Cruise control is an essential.

Another visit to the waterpark this morning after breakfast. After the kids blew off some energy, we packed up the car and were off to cross North Dakota. I was expecting North Dakota to be straight and flat but, low and behold, there were a few curves and a couple hills. See, not totally flat! I pre-planned this portion of the drive to try and add some breaks to the day. Our first stop was at the Pionner Village in Jamestown, ND to see the world's largest Bison (it is a concrete statue built in 1959 for who knows what reason). We drove up, we hopped out, we took a few pictures then hopped back in the car. We stopped quickly also at the gift shop too because there was a sign saying baby bison. And there, we saw a real bison and a baby out back.

Next stop was for lunch at the Space Aliens Bar & Grill in Bismark, ND. Great choice because there was a ton to look at inside. The decor was spectacular with cheesy old alien paraphenalia and models everywhere. There was even a small aracade inside. Surprisingly, the food was really good. Probably the best meal we have had so far (when I say we, I mean me because how can you mess up a kids meal? Seriously!). Our next stop was at the Theodore Roosevelt National Park. The 36-mile loop through the South end of the park was very nice but the light was fading fast. We only saw pairie dogs (a plenty) and some deer. No bison! A small piece of advice, if you are traveling with kids in a car for days, a driving tour through a deserted park is not recommended. We got through the park in record time and back onto I-94 West.

With all the driving over the past few days, I was getting really tired especially when it got dark so I decided to get to Miles City, MT for the evening. I didn't want to push it the extra 2 hours to Billings, MT. We pulled into the BW and checked in. The hotel gave us coupons to the family restaurant across the street for free kids meals. So, we headed over to check it out. After the enormous lunch I could only see myself eating a bowl of soup. Ordered the kids some food and myself a soup (best soup I have had in a while - homemade). My bill was a total of $3.00. What?! I felt guilty. And obviously tipped the waitress way good.

When arriving at our hotel, I noticed there were nothing but muddy trucks parked in the parking lot. And a lot of men. Hmmm, hunting season??? At dinner, when some guys came in wearing camo pants and jackets, Louie looked at me and said "yep, for sure hunting season?" I received final confirmation of this later when I was walking Oskar and a guy dropped his tailgate revealing a deer head. Gotta love Montana!

After dinner, it was off to the pool for a swim and a game of Marco Polo. Then back to the room so I could relax. Now, to find a way to get beer delivered to my room. That would be perfect. I bet if I knock on any door in this place, my odds would be very good to find a Bud Light on the first knock. haha.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Louie at TRNPLouie at TRNP
Louie at TRNP

Shortly after this picture was taken both kids ended up super muddy.


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb