Montana State Dive Fest 2008


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Helena
August 18th 2008
Published: September 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow, it has been so long since I have written. So I am back in Alaska -- yay! -- and have been for a little over a week. Things started out a little rocky as it was a little hard adjusting to a settle environment after living like a nomad all summer. But I think things are going to start improving. I didn't get to write about one experience I had in (or rather near) Idaho so I wanted to add the Montana State Dive Fest to my blog.

Four simple words describe the Montana State Dive Fest: it...was...sooooooo...fun...Not only were the people from Helena Scuba just amazing, but it was nice to get in the water and play around like a fish some more. I also acquired a little dive camera to play with (thanks, Mom), a dive slate, a dive shirt, and a PADI visor that I got for pulling a token out of the treasure chest during the underwater hunt. The lake was nice and my mother, sister, and nephew all came along for the trip. On the way over there to Montana, we had a little excitement as a wildfire caused the road to be closed for a bit and we watched the helicopter drop water on the fire.

Another exciting moment of the trip was the Beartooth News guy coming to the dive fest and interviewing us. And just an hour after Michael Phelps won his final gold medal in China, they played the newsclip and there I was...looking all dorky and smiley as the guy stood next to me and talked about what it means to go diving. It was fun though!! And then the day after the fest, I turned 21 so things were pretty busy and exciting at that time. It's nice to be back at school though and although I have the most classes, work, and things to do than ever before, it's nice and I'm happy to be "home." Will update again soon about my trip through British Columbia and back to Alaska!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb