And so it begins...


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So Bill left yesterday...vacation over. I am officially here and working. Working hard. I'm a breakfast cook so normal day I'm up at 530. For those of you who don't know me, getting up that early is ludacris. The owner, my boss, is so incredibly anal and OCD. She trained me to do prep work and spent 20 min showing me how to take out the trash. Painful. I'm sure once I get into the swing and she backs out of the equation, things will be easier.

The restaurant opened yesterday and I was cooking. I loved it! I can alreadly tell I'm going to run the kitchen...

I'm starting to warm up to the staff, but everyone is so familiar to me. I know them all from somewhere, I swear. I see qualities and quirks of all of the people I love in these folks I just met. It's kind of creepy.

I'm not quite homesick, but when I think about how long I'm going to be here my stomach turns. Does that count?

It finally stopped raining! The clouds cleared and my surroundings are truly amazing (sorry Bill!). I find myself thinking that I've never been anywhere so beautiful. I think I say that in all of my travels though! I'll post more pictures as soon as I can, until then you'll just have to take my word for it- or come and visit me!

I've done a little bit of hiking. With all the rain and snow melting there are waterfalls everywhere! I got to play in the snow a bit too. There are still huge piles everywhere. Sure they're kind of icy on top, but for the first time ever I sunk into snow thigh deep!

So far I've seen a prairie dog (Peaches), a ram, a moose, some elk, and a ton of deer. Driving to Kalispell and back was such a pretty dive, but there were so many deer in the road. It was a little scary, especially when I drove back at 3AM in the dark.

I would love to get snail mail from all of you. If you find yourself with a spare minute write me a note! I think it will help get me over the initial hump. Plus, I have lots of free time to write you back...

Park Cafe and Grocery
Aleta Johannaber
HC 72 Box 5
St Mary, MT
59417

much love from the big sky country...

Advertisement



29th May 2008

Okay, I am lost..
This is your summer vacation or you have moved to Montanta or something?
29th May 2008

5:30?!
HFS! that is ludacris. I guess "brunch chef" was taken?
30th May 2008

Hey homie sis!
Damn girl, 5:30 am back on the peace walking routine. You rock, and have fun. I'm bout to jump on down to Oz and Bali for the summer! I miss you and send you mi corazon!
30th May 2008

way to go
Finally figured out how to access the blog-I am so technologically incompetent without you kiddo. Miss you. The pictures were great. I love that you were able to hop the border to Canada...and look forward when you get home so you can do all of the cooking :)...up at 5:30 am-that is truly a miracle. Wow. Keeping you in my heart and when I am up at 530 I will think about you with a big smile. Love your other mom
31st May 2008

I wish I were there. Things are pretty much the same here, janices cats are really messy. I didn't realize how much work this was going to be. I don't understand how two cats can produce that amount of vomit, hairballs, and crap on a daily basis. I swear they produce more of this crap by weight than I feed them. It's unexplainable. It's been getting to point of unbearably hot here. you should mail me some snow.
31st May 2008

brwr!
YAY!! I'm so happy youre liking it (so far...) You aren't hiking and shit all by yourself are you? Thats dangermouse. bad aleta bad!
1st June 2008

miss you
tonight i got together with the old tradition crew minus hannah and plus a few. i almost called to invite you. twice. love you!
2nd June 2008

20 minutes taking out the trash...
Are there bears or racoons to get into it? And please be careful driving on those deer-infested roadways!
3rd June 2008

We Miss YOU!!
Hey Girl, We were just sitting here with Bill looking over the pictures of his trip and they were absolutely wonderful! As far as getting up at 5:30 AM, we feel for you...NOT! All we have to say is welcome to the real world...or a dive trip in Bonaire! Linne' has decided that Curacao is our next dive trip destination...they promise sea horses! We are booking our trip for the 2nd to the 9th of August...can you go with?? Well, if you can't we'll be thinking of you fondly as Linne' rides the sea horses and Phillip rides Bill! ;) Just kidding...about the August part, but Linne's ready to go! Be safe and we'll talk to you soon! Love ya, Phillip, Linne', and Bill

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb