Bill's summer vacation 2008


Advertisement
Published: May 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

IMGP0012IMGP0012IMGP0012

we made it...it's raining
So we arrived on Thursday, it was raining. It was snowing as we drove through the mountains, but mostly just raining... it's still raining. Poor Bill. It's supposed to stop raining pretty shortly after he leaves. We both blame him. He even offered to leave early if it would bring the sunshine, he's sweet like that. We went to Canada today...for lunch. The border is only twenty minutes away. Afterwards we sucked it up and went hiking in the park (in the rain). The fog has been pretty thick. I've been told that I'm surrounding by the most breathtaking scene. From the bits and pieces of it I've seen I'm looking forward to Bill's departure (only so the rain will stop). Rain and all, we're having a great time. Bill officially hasn't done anything work related in 3 days, I'm so proud! More later...


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

IMGP0029IMGP0029
IMGP0029

snowy, icy roads
IMGP0035IMGP0035
IMGP0035

we went to canada for lunch
IMGP0058IMGP0058
IMGP0058

supposedly i'm surrounded by snow covered mountains, see it?
IMGP0063IMGP0063
IMGP0063

freezing... i still can't feel my fingers
IMGP0067IMGP0067
IMGP0067

even the trees are sick of being wet
IMGP0079IMGP0079
IMGP0079

did i mention it's flooding?
IMGP0145IMGP0145
IMGP0145

seriously...flooding
IMGP0150IMGP0150
IMGP0150

pretty awesome
IMGP0166IMGP0166
IMGP0166

this is where you will find me


25th May 2008

I miss aleta
You have to go through alot to post a comment. Aleta it look beautiful. Even through the rain and fog. I miss you.
26th May 2008

Dude, it looks cold there!
That looks more like a winter/early spring vacation to me! But, the pictures are really cool. Have fun!! Love, JoJo
26th May 2008

Here's to Deep Fried Candy Bars. . .
Gurl, at least, there are no bugs screetchin and a scratchin, but you can prolly look forward to that during the summer months. I am sitting on my front porch listening to the Memorial Day fireworks burst just a couple blocks from my house- Shoshana and I ran to the top of my street to catch them through the trees. On this day of remembrance, the one I honor is you, Aleta The Brave, and the tremendous path that you are so bravely following. I remember cycling by myself through Holland and pedaling as night fell, and continuing to move forward in the darkness, only to wake in the morning half lost but mostly keenly aware of my center. You hold this power, too, my beloved sister and everyday I ask that this gift of sheer certainty blossom. You are an incredible inspiration to me. I love you.
26th May 2008

not the same around here
we are so glad you arrived safely. we miss you terribly, but what you are about to experience is worth you leaving us. we will just have to live with second rate substitutes for now! can't wait to see more pictures. beth I miss you.vivian Ruby says HI!!!
27th May 2008

So that's what Bill looks like!
Beloved, brave Aleta! I'm glad that you didn't have to face that long drive in snow, fog and flood all alone! Thank you, Bill!
28th May 2008

those snow covered mountains are amazing!
as soon as i figure out how to work my scanner i will email that picture to you. i wish i was staying in your lodge so i could witness another six egg omelette flip. and because i miss you!
29th May 2008

You're in my heart!
I love the picture of you crossing the bridge. It's funny you went to Canada for lunch. Paul wants to know if that's the house you live in now - the one where you're standing on the porch in the flood. I hope not. I'm missing you and also really proud and silly happy, like I'm the one who just drove across the country into the mountains where it's snowy and flooded and sunny till 10:30 at night.
30th May 2008

Wish I was there
Even with the weather conditions it looks awesome Aleta! I know you'll have a amazing experience, thanks for sharing it all. Love, love, love you

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb