Wow


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Gardiner
May 15th 2009
Published: May 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oh wow.
Sorry to those who were looking for updates, this is the first time I've had wireless on this trip. Actually, we had it in Iowa, but I was too tired to get anything accomplished. I'm going to give a short run down of my past week:

Monday: Got up at 5am, packed the car, picked up Henri, and left on our adventure. Our first stop was Chicago, and we stayed with Mom's friend Wendy. I'll give a brief description of the states we drove through:

Pennsylvania: Honestly, when you've see one part of Pennsylvania along Route 80, you've seen it all. Farms, farms, and more farms. I can't remember how long it took us to drive through Pennsylvania, but it was a long time.

Ohio: This state should also just be part of Pennsylvania. I'm sure Cleveland is pretty cool, but we didn't see that city. Youngstown is kind of creepy.

Indiana: Oh hey, another state filled with farms. I realize this descriptions are not very exciting, but this is all you see when you drive out 80 in these states. It's somewhat shocking that people live in these places.

Illinois: More farms, until we finally reached Chicago. We got into Chicago around 5pm and drove around for a little bit. We met up with Wendy around 6:30. Had dinner at a diner in Chicago, walked out towards the lake, saw Wrigley, etc. The next day we went downtown and saw a bunch of cool stuff down there, and went up to Wrigley one more time.

Iowa: This has been my least favorite state of the entire trip. There's nothing. Don't bother.

Minnesota: This state gets pretty nice as you get closer to South Dakota.

South Dakota: Actually really cool. As you get higher in elevation, everything gets much nicer. I imagine this is what Ireland looks like. The Badlands National Park is incredible. As is Mount Rushmore. Everyone needs to get there at least once in their life.

Wyoming: Less people live in this state than all of Morris County. Most of the exits that lead off of I-90 are dirt roads. However, the landscape is incredible. INCREDIBLE.

Yellowstone: Gets it's own section. I was in a bad mood because I was hungry and we drove through a blizzard, but it's beautiful. I think we're going back in the morning to see Old Faithful.

Montana: We're in Gardiner, MT at the moment in a Super 8 that charged me $60 for this room. It's actually much nicer than the place we stayed last night in Keystone (near Mt. Rushmore). That room was smaller than my dorm room.

So tomorrow we're going back into Yellowstone for a little bit, then driving out to Idaho to stay over night. If I wasn't so exhausted, I'd provide a better update. However, Henri's snoring makes sleeping nearly impossible.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb