Bigfork 50


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Bigfork
September 27th 2014
Saved: October 29th 2015
Edit Blog Post

So, the big race today, the Huckleberry 100 was 4 races in one. There was the big 100, a fifty miler, and a twenty five miler that I planned for. But after a wrong turn, and volunteers who did not know the route, I took a wrong turn, and ended up cycling from Kalispell to Bigfork, where we are staying. It ended up close to forty miles, if not more. So, in good humor, I finished FIRST my own little race, and called it the Bigfork 40. There were a few others who got trapped into this route as well, but they finished well behind me. So, to reward myself, I am going to have a Roederer Estate brut rose' in honor of my big first race win. You are welcome to join the party here in Bigfork. Tonight, we are headed to Megan's dear friend's place, The Laughing Horse Lodge, located about 20 minutes away on beautiful Swan Lake. Kathleen and Megan are like sisters from another mother, always joking around with each other, playing practical jokes, sharing large amounts of wholesale food for their businesses, and causing each other grief. We three are going over for dinner, then coming back for some huckleberry pie and vanilla ice cream. But, this is after the Roederer celebration. They say music plays all summer, and we just missed it. Most all of July and Augusta was filled with concerts, as well as a big Festival Amadeus in nearby Whitefish. Summer theater is also a big deal here, and of course, we missed that too! Best of all, this is Big Sky country, and outdoor activities are always on the agenda. I have seen plenty of hikers, fly fishermen and women, kayakers, rafters, golfers, mountain bikers, and horse back riders. Less abundant are photographers, zip liners, and spelunkers. In a matter of weeks, I am sure the skiers will be out as well. I should really get a job here with the tourist bureau or chamber of commerce. Or perhaps I can be Megan's PR agent. She really should write a book and do standup comedy.She called her friend Kathleen, pretending to be a potential guest. She told her she was lactose intolerant but could eat eggs! I guess she was pretending to think eggs came from dairy cows!!! You get the idea, they are always having a laugh at each other's expense. Dinner will be both entertaining, and delicious, I am certain. For now, raise a glass to the wonderful state of Montana.

COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb