A memorable night at Rainbow Ranch


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Big Sky
February 28th 2006
Published: February 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'll start my entry by stating that I have been travelling since I could remember. When I was four years old, my parents decided to take me on a road trip along Southern Europe and I spent four months touring that part of the world. Since then, I've visited Central and South America, the Carribean, Western, Central and Eastern Europe, and Africa. I love to explore new cultures, taste their local cuisine (anything but meat and fish--i'm a veggie) and sip the local drinks (whatever they may entail). But this blog centers around one part of the world, North America, and one hotel in particular, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge and Restaurant in Big Sky, Montana. I wanted to post information regarding this magnificent hotel and restaurant because it is my most recent exploration in terms of culture, lodging and cuisine.

Having stayed in many five-star resorts in my life (courtesy of my fabulous mother), the Rainbow Ranch is on par with some of the finest I've ever seen when it comes to the first class hospitality that one receives by simply walking through the hotels' door. All the staff is attentive to every single one of your needs and they absolutely go out of their way to make everyone feel like royalty. The main lodge of the hotel houses the reception area, the bar and the unbelievable restaurant (which I will get to soon enough), and has the perfect touch of Western decor that makes one just want to sink down in their big chairs or sprawl out on the couch in front of their river rock fireplace and, for a moment, pretend that the world has stopped. The rooms at this hotel are simply adorable and give one no incentive to leave them! I've heard that there is also a spa in the making which will undoubtebly be a huge success as the owners have been touring Italy and France to garner some ideas!

Now the restaurant, is always a treat. While they specialize in wild game, they have everything on the menu to satisfy everyones' palate whether it be their fresh seafood, beef, chicken, or vegetarian options. The Rainbow Ranch also has the largest wine selection in all of Montana and a wine cellar that makes ones' jaw drop. The atmosphere is cozy and romantic and again the staff do a superb job of making sure everyone leaves more than satisfied.

In terms of culture, Montanans are extremely cordial people. This one will see not only in the hotel but also when one enjoys some outings on the town in the local bars. If you're there in the summer, the rodeos are a must!

The last, but not least, thought I must add regarding the Rainbow Ranch Lodge and Restaurant is the plethora of both winter and summer activities one may enjoy while staying there. In the winter, skiing, snowshoeing, dog-sledding, snowmobiling are just a few activites to enjoy around the hotels' vicinity (and then quickly come back to sit in front of the fire and drink wine). In the summer, the on-site horseback riding and fly-fishing outfitters are there to take you wherever your adventurous hearts may desire, not to mention the countless numbers of hiking trails around the Rainbow Ranch hotel. Oh yes, I should mention the critical part that the hotel and restaurant happen to be conveniently located about an hours drive from Yellowstone National Park.

If you haven't quite gotten it yet, I am a huge fan of this gem of a hotel located in the southwest corner of Montana and therefore felt the need to share with y'all!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb