Heading South


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Big Sky
August 11th 2007
Published: August 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

KidsKidsKids

One I forgot! These kids took part in the Medicine Hat Stampede Kiddie's Parade

I left Medicine Hat early on Saturday August 11th on my journey south. I have been blessed with wonderful daughters and great sons-in-law. When I left Louisiana in May Debbie had sent me on my way with food for the journey and Bobby had helped me clean the outside of the RV. On Friday Kevin had cleaned the outside of the RV (I helped), and on Saturday Jayne sent me on my way laden with frozen meals.
I had decided to take a different route out of Medicine Hat than the one I took on my way there. This time I headed east then south through the Cypress Hills to Montana. The trip was very peaceful through some very pretty countryside. The border crossing at Wild Horse is quite something. Two houses one on the right hand side for anyone going into Alberta, and one on the left hand side for anyone going into Montana. There was no waiting at all—unlike my hour delay crossing into Alberta at the Coutts border crossing. I travelled south to Havre, then east on U.S. Hwy.2. I was travelling on the same route as Louis and Clark, the main difference being they walked! Hwy
Overnight ViewOvernight ViewOvernight View

I really was that close to the lines!
2 is like a world tour because I went through Zurich, Malta and Harlem on my way to my first nights stopping place which was Glasgow! I traveled Montana from south to north on my way to Alberta and we have gone from southeast to northwest on our way to Alberta in years past, but I had never travelled west to east. Montana is one BIG state I can tell you! This northern tier is very agricultural, miles and miles of wheat fields, and very attractive at this time of the year. I travelled through at least a hundred miles of the Fort Peck Indian Reservation; the one picture is of a giant stone which was reputed to move, the Indians call it ”Sleeping Buffalo Rock.” What I couldn’t understand was why someone had taken cigarette tobacco and put it onto the rock.
Glasgow was not a bit like its Scottish namesake (or should that be the other way round I wonder?) I have included a picture of the view from my windshield just for humor! The trains weren’t so bad during the night and I was far enough away from the shunting station to be undisturbed by that. However,
Flat LandFlat LandFlat Land

Hard to show but I bet a person could see for 10 miles out here.
I think all engine drivers figure that everyone should get a wake-up call at 5 a.m., so I was on the road early on Sunday morning too! My travels were pleasant, the scenery quite beautiful; very, very flat- you can see for miles; I tried to take a picture but how do you take a picture of space? Almost all of the land that can be cultivated is cultivated. I passed acres and acres of wheat, and once I got into North Dakota, the wheat field landscape was dotted with fields of corn and the sunflowers. My second night was Medora, North Dakota, and I arrived there in mid afternoon.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

ExplanationExplanation
Explanation

Tells it better than I could
ScenicScenic
Scenic

When I saw this scene I knew that I must stay for a additional night.


16th August 2007

Hiya Lyn
The pictures are not opening for me today. I will try again tomorrow. A glitch somewhere I suppose. The pics from your last entry were great. I passed them on.
16th August 2007

All pictures were black?
Is that my server fault or something wrong with the blogsite?
13th September 2007

Coming back down!
Hey Lyn - one of these days you'll be back here with us. We also hope for a visit from you sometime. Your trip sounds like it's bee namazing - thanks again for all the news, photos, impressions. A great travelogue all round. Love from us both...

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb