March to the Arch: Final Four 2005


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis
April 4th 2005
Published: October 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fighting Illini go the Arch for some college basketball.

And not just SOME college basketball... we're in St. Louis for college basketball. Actually, right now, we ARE college basketball. Maybe it's because I'm from Illinois (the state and the school), but I can't remember a team that has attracted such a following like we have this year. Everywhere is orange. Everywhere it's about the Illini (save ESPN). Perhaps it has to do with the fact that it's our hundreth year of basketball. Or that we only lost one regular season game (screw you, OSU). Or maybe it's the Dee Brown infamous jersey pop that has put Illinois in the limelight. Whatever it is... I can't say that I ever thought I'd actually be here, at the Final Four, to see my team play in the national championship game (not to mention to be a part of school history like we are). Although we failed to capture the crown (sorry about those hand checks Auggie, you're forever loved), it was an experience I'm not likely to forget. Edit: I'm never going to forget it. Nor this team. I'm already, at age 20 (the best year EVER!), feeling like an old small town that never forgets that one magical season it had back when and talks about it as often as the weather. All I can say is we owned the second half of the UNC game. And we'll be back.

OSKEE WOW WOW ILLINOIS



I went to the Final Four before I had this log, and no long have the pictures of the event on my computer. To see pictures of the Final Four, please direct your browser to the links below. Enjoy!
http://good-times.webshots.com/album/315728658jiXrKx
http://good-times.webshots.com/album/321237744JSEAvv


Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 31; qc: 112; dbt: 0.1176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb