Almost Last Day of School


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis » WashU
May 10th 2006
Published: May 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Pre-road trip

I'm at school in St. Louis still... no route to map. Half of me can't wait for Thursday morning to get started on this road trip hope. The other half of me wants to stay here forever and never say good-bye to my wonderful suitemates.

One more exam...


My walls are white and posterless. Moriah has stripped her side of pictures and books. All that's left are duffel bags and our bedding. Ugly!
This is what it looked like before we packed...

The reason I'm starting this travel blog is because I'm going to be all over the Western Hemisphere in the next year. Thursday, my mom and I are leaving St. Louis and driving home, so that covers a bunch of states east of the Mississippi.

This summer, I'm so excited to be working at North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA). It's only the most widely-read English-language publication on Latin America in the United States! I'll be doing editing, research, and maybe a little writing. To make some money, I'll be waitressing on the side. I hope I get the job at Huntley Tavern. I don't want to work at Papa Razzi again. I'm ready to move on!

Then, I'll be in Fortaleza, Brazil for the fall on an SIT program called Culture, Development, and Social Justice. Amazing. I google-earth-ed Fortaleza the other day and I can tell it's beautiful. Granted, all I could see were red-roofed houses and palm-tree lined streets, but that sounds good to me already! And the ocean isn't far.

Then, I'll be in Santiago, Chile for the spring. I'm excited to go back and to see Daniela again! There are so many classes I want to take at La Catolica, all about Latin America - anthro, polisci, history, etc. So many options! And all of February is set aside to travel. I hope I make a really close friend in that first month, so we can travel together. I want to know in advance where I'm going and what I'm visiting during that month... Macchu Pichu? Patagonia? the Andes? Rapa Nui (Easter Island)? Buenos Aires? Montevideo? Rio de Janeiro? Sao Paulo? Wow... I could go anywhere!!

K, back to studying. I still have a Portuguese exam tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

DanielaDaniela
Daniela

Doesn't she look sophisticated in her graduation garb? I know... this picture was taken about 2 years ago, but whatever! She's even more gorgeous now! I can't wait to see her and Astrid and mama and papa again!


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.129s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb