Day 2: Roadside Attractions


Advertisement
Published: June 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post



There are two types of Museums, ones that are open on weekends and ones that are closed on weekends. On weekends I tend to be near the ones that are closed. That was the case this morning. So instead of going to the two museums I wanted to visit, I went to some roadside attractions that never close.

Only two V-1 German Buzz-Bombs exist in the United States, One is at the Smithsonian, the other is in Greencastle, IN. The V-1 was nicknamed the Buzz-Bomb because of the noise they made as they flew over European cities. A few years ago my Dad said something to me about the noise of the rockets that he heard fly over London. I always assumed he was talking about the V-2s But maybe he was hearing some V-1s.



The Worlds Largest Wind Chimes, What else can you say. They're 50 foot tall, they weigh 8 tons. They must annoy the hell out of the neighbors. And coming soon to the lot across the street... the Worlds Largest Rocking Chair. They also have the Worlds Largest Golf Tee. In the past year My brother and sister have both told me that they were having a conversation with someone and the person asked 'Who would go see the Worlds Largest...' 'My brother does'.



I also saw a Fire Breathing Dragon. Of course he only breaths fire when you feed him a one dollar token.



When I was here about 7 years ago this park wasn't here. I had checked the satellite views to find the location where the pro's shoot those iconic night shots of the arch with the Mississippi river in the foreground. The spot I chose was on the top of the levy across the street from here. Shortly after arriving a professional photographer showed up, so I guess I found the right spot. We spent about 3 hours shooting pictures at various stages of sunset and into darkness. Unfortunately, this spot was on Railroad property, And the Railroad Police showed up and hassled us for a while but ultimately let us go with a warning. Now they have built this wonderful platform that raises you up above the levy and puts a bunch of power lines between you and the Arch, oh well, I still have 400 photos from 7 years ago.



Dinner: Sugarfire BBQ

First the line was out the door at this place, But the sign said once your in the door it takes about 15 minutes to get to the food servers. The food is served kind of cafeteria style, and the seating is community table style. I had Ribs, Sausage, Coleslaw and fries. The ribs started out good, but as I got near the end of the rack the were getting dry. The sausage was OK, it was stuffed with cheese and the cheese was a bit overpowering. I would rate them a 3 out of 5.

Additional Photos Here

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb