False Start


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » Kansas City
January 17th 2010
Published: January 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

When travel plans go bad, they can really go bad. I don't want to focus on the negative but today I got to the airport just in time to hear that all flights out of KC had been canceled due to the fog. They booked me on the first flight out on Monday but were skeptical it would go. I found out it had been canceled by my colleage but when I called Continental they had changed it to Monday night connecting to my Mumbai flight on Tuesday so I would have spent 24 hours in Newark. I definitely would have been peeved if I had shown up at the airport at 4:30 AM to find that out. When I told continental that I wanted the original Monday night flight to Mumbai they wanted to charge me $9000. Yup, that's right, $9000. Granted my original ticket was $6200 but obviously they were mistaken.

On a side note, the airline attendant commented on my passport being a little tattered. I had washed it. She suggested I use a glue stick to put it back together. It worked like a charm but scary how easy it is to fix up a passport.

In any case we recovered, with a last minute scramble my boss and I got booked on a Midwest Airlines flight that left Monday morning so I could still make the Monday night Mumbai flight.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb