My first...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » Kansas City
August 28th 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My first travel blog..though not technically traveling yet I still feel the need to start this now. Im mentally preparing myself for this crazy undertaking that has been a year and a half in the making. I remember being in the airport in Australia on my layover going over to New Zealand and writing out my options for what I could do after I got home.
"Just 2 weeks and 3 days til home..til the great unknown of my own bed and a complete lack of what to do with my time. I can....
A. Get a job back at Sonic and work my ass off.
B. Take a couple months of a few days at Sonic then a new part time job
C. New part time job
D. Just do massage
E. Be a loser and not do anything"

Slowly I came to realize that all of those options sucked. I wanted a more adventure..more passion..more travel. This trip was decided on in a long drawn out life altering process. I almost became a lowly email responder in DC I almost became mundane live in kansas city the rest of my life and stop traveling girl I almost did lots of things but somehow my love of traveling prevailed and I bought the tickets for my trip just 1.5 short months ago.

Official itinerary is as follows
Los Angeles 28 Nov-3 Dec
Hawaii 3 Dec-22 Dec
Japan 23 Dec- 1 Jan
Taiwan 1 Jan-3 Jan
Thailand 3 Jan-15 Feb
Australia 15 Feb-6 Apr
Fiji 6 April- 16 Apr
Back to home via Los Angeles sometime after that.

I dont know quite yet what this trip is going to do to my life. I do know that my life will be changed. Every trip changes me..the people, the culture, the length of time just being away from my family/friends changes me. Will I come home with a drastically changed perspective on life or a new place I desperately want to visit...?? My whole life is so up in the air. Its making me feel overwhelmed now that Im evaluating it. *sigh.. Ok gonna move on.
Anyway, this is my travelblog. This is the official spot where I will talk about my new friends and new places. I will try to make it enjoyable to read...But mostly I want you..my friends... to just be able to stay updated on my life. Goodness knows I want to stay updated on yours. I want messages galore and I want everyone to be on skype because Im going to have those days and nights where Im going to cry and be so homesick it hurts. Seeing ya'lls faces and hearing ya'lls voices will get me to smile and ready to see more of the world.
Im going to close now. Have to watch an episode of Buffy. Yay Buffy.
By the way..Im going to have a "Just in Case I Die" party sometime in Nov. at Jaywalkers. I plan on having a keg and everyone is invited. This will be everyones last chance to give me a hug..ya know..just in case I die. :-P More info to come soon.
My first travelblog is now finished. Wonder what my last travelblog will say...ah the great unknown.

Hugs.
Jennie Mae

Advertisement



28th August 2008

Yay for Travel!! and Double Yay for Blogging it!
I'm super excited for you Jennie! Im even more excited that you'll be blogging about your travels so I can experience it vicariously!! haha- I've already added it to my Google reader- so I'll be stalking it and read whenever you post something new :) I hope you have such a great time and enjoy the last few months at home with the fam before the big adventure- wish I could come to your party! But drink a beer for me instead!! :) Love you!
7th September 2008

So excited for you!!
Hey Jennie!! I'm so excieted for you. I can't wait to read your blogs to find out everything you've done and will be doing on your great adventure. Be sure to give me a call when your in LA. Good Luck!!
29th September 2008

Yay Jennie- its almost here!! Luuuurve you ;p
28th October 2008

I am so proud of you that you are going back out there and doing what it is you love the most. I am excited to be part of your first journey in Los Angeles. YAY for Buffy. I miss you tons, and am soooo happy for you. Loves you. Faith

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb