Miata World II is history


Advertisement
Published: May 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Miatas at StockyardsMiatas at StockyardsMiatas at Stockyards

A group of Miatas made a run from Grapevine to the Stockyards in Ft. Worth on Saturday.
Hello from Vicksburg, MS. The last three days have zoomed by. I sure packed a lot into Saturday and Sunday in the DFW area. I explored Fort Worth on Saturday before going up to the evening activities at the Gaylord Texan. The highlight of my evening was a ride along in Elvis. Elvis is a 2002 Miata owned by Flyin’ Miata. Elvis is powered by a Corvette engine! Yes you read correctly a Miata with an LS1 engine. It weighs about 200 pounds more than a stock Miata and keeps the basic weight ratio. And it has that Corvette rumble which I can still feel. Ok so a lot of you may say why put a big V8 in a Miata and I guess my answer is because you can! I first saw Elvis at Road Atlanta during the Mitty in May. If anyone is interested in seeing Elvis go to Flyin’ Miata website and look under V8 conversion: http://www.flyinmiata.com/

I didn’t win the 2010 Miata that was given away at Miata World II. None of my friends did either. A Texan won it.

Sunday I spent the day at Texas Motor Speedway with 500 of my newest Miata buddies and 300 Miatas. 297 Miatas set a Guinness record for most Miatas in a parade on the drive over from Grapevine to TMS. I drove up from Arlington, arrived and joined the line going into the speedway. We had a group picture made on the front straightaway and then did a parade lap around the track.

Then the fun really began. The local SCCA club set up a great autocross in a parking lot at the speedway. I spent most of the day there and was 2nd fastest in my class. We had a little rain late morning and I got to make 3 runs on the autocross in the rain. That was exciting! And each time in the rain I improved my time, but they were all slower than when the course was dry.

They also took us on hot laps around the 1 ½ mile oval and had a road course set up in the infield. I took one run around the oval. We got a group who wanted to go fast and we did indeed go fast. They were taking most groups around at 80 mph, but we hit 105 on two of the
TMSTMSTMS

This was the line when we first arrived at Texas Motor Speedway.
laps!

So a fun time was had in the Big D. I plan to make it to Chattanooga Tuesday evening and home on Wednesday in time to head to Grandfather Mountain this weekend for the annual Nature Photography Weekend. I won’t have time to post any entries from there.

But stay tuned for July. Heading to Jacksonville, FL for the annual Corvair convention and then down to Mickey’s house. I hope to be able to blog along the way during that trip and have a few surprises along the way, too!

Thanks for checking in with me on my first RV trip with my Miata tagging along behind the motorhome.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

lined up for group photoslined up for group photos
lined up for group photos

Here's a view of the Miatas on the front stretch prior to our group photo.
start finish linestart finish line
start finish line

I was lined up right on the start finish line.
parade lap bach stretchparade lap bach stretch
parade lap bach stretch

This was our parade lap to get off the track after our group photo. With 300 Miatas on the track our speed ranged from completely stopped to maybe 20 mph.
coming into pitscoming into pits
coming into pits

This was the end of the parade lap.
hot lapshot laps
hot laps

Here I am lined up for our hot laps. We hit 105 during this run.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb