First festival of the season


Advertisement
Published: April 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My weekend was quite uneventful, except for Saturday, which was the first real festival of the season in my area. It was really awesome! But before I go into that, I will briefly mention another awesome aspect of the day. =)

In the morning Ingrid and I met up with Lauren for breakfast at a restaurant in Ocean Springs that Lauren had recommended as a good place to get breakfast out. I had been craving an omelett ever since we went to IHOP and so that is what I got. It was wonderful! Soooo much food. 3 egg omelett (which i got with cheese tomato and olives), hash browns, bacon (which I gave to Lauren and Ingrid), and a biscuit. So tasty, and relatively cheap considering the amount of food. I was pleased. And the restaurant itself was really nice, I liked the atmosphere. And it had an outdoor seating area which is where we sat, so we got to look out on the main part of town, where the festival was set up and already under way.

Once we thought we were capable of moving, we left and walked around the festival. It was the Herb and Garden Festival, which was aptly named (AC, I was thinking of you the entire time. You would've loved it!). The majority of the booths were people selling various herb plants, fruit plants, and flowers. If I were going to be here longer, I may have been tempted but as it is, I just enjoyed wandering around. There were also people selling natural candles and soaps and things such as that. That stuff was much harder to resist. hehe. Ingrid and I ended up splitting the cost for one of the natural wax candles cause we both liked the scent a lot and we figured we could just burn it in the trailer! =) I also got a bar of natural soap for my bathroom. Good stuff. There was also a booth from a local business that makes various types of homemade pasta. Goodness gracious. Soooo tempting! Everything looked and sounded delicious. It was very hard to resist, but somehow I had the will-power to not buy any of it. I may come to regret that decision, but ah well. So it goes. =)

All-in-all it was a great day. There were tons of people, it was great atmosphere, the booths were neat, and the weather was gorgeous. And best of all, this is just the first of many festivals to come, from what I hear. Spring along the gulf coast means festival time. I'm gonna love it! =)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1872s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb