An Open Letter to Hillary Clinton


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
November 15th 2016
Published: March 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Dear Hillary,

I've been sitting in front of my computer monitor for a full five minutes, attempting to piece together what I want to write to you. I was so confident when I stood in line to vote on Election Day that we would be waking up the next morning having elected our first woman president. Although my viewpoint was shared by the majority of Americans, the arcane Electoral College system has put into the White House an individual who is wholly unqualified to be there.

I've been compulsively checking my cell phone all day with some irrational hope that a media outlet will report that there was a mistake, that we did not actually elect a demagogue who seems to espouse racist, bigoted, misogynistic, hateful viewpoints as part of his daily work. Or maybe that half a million absentee ballots tilting in your favor will be magically discovered in time to change the course of history. But it is not to be.

Speaking from my heart, I will say that I have never felt so disillusioned by the voting choices of my fellow citizens. All the progress we have made over the past eight years for the environment, women's rights, marriage equality, access to healthcare, and goodwill around the world, seems to be at the brink of being extinguished. This election is so personal to me. My husband is an immigrant. What will Trump's America look like for us? My cousin just married the love of his life, who also happens to be a man. What will Trump's America look like for them? And that highest, hardest glass ceiling has yet to be broken because in 2016, in America, a less qualified man is selected for the job instead of a vastly more qualified woman for every position, at every level, every time.

My heart is broken. I can't even write these words to you without tears in my eyes. It is such a bitter disappointment and harsh reality check of the state of the republic. It is hard to fathom that this is who we are. I write to you so candidly today because I can't stay silent. Our friends and allies around the world have to know that so many of us did not want this outcome. Trump may have won the election, but the ideological battle within the United States is just beginning. As you said during your speech the morning following the election, "I count my blessings every day that I am an American. And I still believe, as deeply as I ever have, that if we stand together and work together, with respect for our differences, strength in our convictions, and love for this nation -– our best days are still ahead of us. You know I believe we are stronger together and will go forward together. And you should never be sorry that you fought for that. Scripture tells us: 'Let us not grow weary in doing good, for in due season, we shall reap, if we do not lose heart.' My friends, let us have faith in each other. Let us not grow weary. Let us not lose heart. For there are more seasons to come and there is more work to do."

You would have been a magnificent president for us and a collaborative leader with the world. We have so much work to do.

Yours,

Merritt

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0979s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb