Catching Up


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
August 4th 2014
Published: August 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I'm utterly shocked to realize that it's been nearly two years since I started my first blog. The eleventh graders I taught have now graduated, and the twelfth graders I worked with are well on their way through college. India has stayed close to my heart and mind, although I'm sometimes afraid that I might forget what I learned from the students there. I think of them all often, and am so grateful that I kept this blog so I can remember some of the details--those that I felt most important to me while I was at Shanti Bhavan.

I've been pretty busy the last couple of years. When I returned from India, I picked up three part-time jobs and went into full bride-mode (NOT bridezilla...I hope). Things settled down after the wedding, though. I became an AmeriCorps VISTA (Volunteers in Service to America) with a great college access nonprofit, where my main focus was helping develop the support systems for students once they are in college. I won't go into great detail here--there would be far too much database and Excel talk--but it was a year of professional growth for me, and I learned a ton about how a successful nonprofit is run.

One of the great things about being a VISTA is that you can choose to get an educational stipend at the end of your term of service. This can be put toward loans, pursuing a new degree, or just taking some random classes at an accredited institution. I knew that I wanted to use it for classes (voice lessons, maybe?) but I wasn't sure where, or how. That's when the idea of grad school, which I had once been quite averse to, started to creep into my life.

So, long story short, we're Boston-bound. And now the lone traveler has become part of a duo. I'll be studying theatre education, and Ben will be nudging his way into the computer science world.

For many readers, I know that Boston doesn't seem quite as "exciting" as India. It's true, Boston's primary language is English, and I will not stick out like a sore thumb when I walk down the street. But, let's face it: miscommunication, adventure, and learning can happen just about anywhere. That said, I can't guarantee this trip will be bursting with self-revelations or crazy mishaps, but that's not exactly why I want to blog, either. I blog to stay connected to my family (both relatives and friends), and to keep a personal journal of my journey. It also forces me to sit down, reflect, and write; three things always at the end of my to-do list, but normally supplanted by Netflix.

Here's to another great adventure!

But first, off to pack boxes...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb