Fergus Falls, MN


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
May 25th 2009
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It took me the first 100 miles to mentally grasp that we are really on our way. And then I couldn't stop smiling. In the past few weeks I have thought more than once about the pre-journey that occurs in the preparation for a journey. My pre-journey prep seemed pretty intense as I worked to get three teaching projects with which I have been involved ready to be turned over to other hands. I realized the truth of what Steve has been telling me about my over-commitment to volunteer work. Boundaries in these areas have been non-existant for me. Preparing to travel away from those responsibilities helped me to see them in greater focus!

We have been collecting bits of gear for this trip for months as another part of our pre-journey prep. Considering "what to take" has been a valuable exercise. I have been reminded in a fresh way of the importance of the pre-journey for each of my days back home--to stop a moment and take stock of what and Who I want to take with me into each day. I know that I'll be coming back from this trip with 20-plus days of being continuously present to God, and to less volunteer work. I hope that I'll also come back with a fresh understanding of the path that God has laid out ahead of me.

Somewhere in the first 100 miles Steve and I realized that we could and should adjust the volume on our helmet mics. We were having to shout to hear each other and it wasn't fun. Steve remembered that there actually was a volume control on the little external units and we each turned ours up. Amazing! We could carry on conversations and actually understand each other most of the time. I realized that this was also a picture of what we are wanting to do on this trip: turn up the volume so that we can hear God and enjoy the conversation! Blessings, Grace.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb