Losing Blood in MN


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota
August 15th 2007
Published: August 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Pipestone. No worries about the blood title. Jim's just a pint lower now. I tried to donate, but alas, my hemoglobin was a bit low (Mom and Dad-please don't worry about this; just a wee bit low, 11.9 and it needed to be 12.5). Yep, we have traveled over 1100 miles in the past days to give blood. We were recruited by Lorraine, the wife of Jim's deceased second cousin, to give blood this afternoon. And I just want to mention that the lovely LPN doing my interview and checking my vitals (my BP and temp and pulse were excellent by the way) commented on "loving my accent." I know all my former co-workers will find that highlarious. We have enjoyed Pipestone and spendiing time with Aunt Dorothy. A little too much butt time in the old car yesterday, but we have learned from this experience and will make the appropriate modifications. And "Dear John," we almost turned back on the first day cause we saw Elk and Bison as we traveled through Land between the Lakes, but since we saw no Moose, we continue our journey and look forward to seeing you in two weeks. And if anyone else wants to fly or drive out and meet us, the offer is still there.
Squirrel

The offer is there provided you bring beer. Day 5 and still no beer. What kind of trip is this?!
Moose

Advertisement



18th August 2007

We have blood and bear in Webster
It's not too late to change your travel plans, Squirrel and Moose. We have lots of beer in Webster, NC, and some blood, pumping much better through Alan's heart (a quick health update) since he's on new meds.
18th August 2007

Ah...fond memories....
If I am remembering correctly we had one of my most memorable mosquito experiences with you guys visiting an Indian mound in MN. Here's hoping you have none of those types of experiences in the next 5 weeks.
19th August 2007

mosquitos in Mn
Interesting to read this, as I was just listening to "A Prairie Home Companion" this evening and there was a laughingly funny skit about the ginormous mosquitoes in Minnesota. Hope youre having loads of fun.

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb