The Great White North!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Minneapolis
January 31st 2013
Published: February 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

So the haze is clearing. Coming into the cold, white winter. Birds on the side of the white roads. Black birds. Crows, in fact. Just one. I saw one hawk as well. One dead deer. Lots on indoor/outdoor amusement parks with water slides and other exciting slide-like rides. Wind not too bad today just the temperature. Staying warm in the car though and now in Jason's house. Thank you Jason and wife! They have a 8 month old son named Tony David. HIs wife is Taiwanese who grew up in Costa Rica. Perfect for Jason who lived in Taiwan and Bolivia and speaks Mandarin and Spanish, like her. I will find out her name tomorrow.



Hmm. Heading further north tomorrow through Duluth. I will follow Jason there since he is going for a funeral. Then on into Canada.



These past few days have been eventful. What I remember most is right hear, right now. Also, cousins, friends, people, conversations. Interests in Buddhism, spirituality. I remember kindnesses in the restaurant, gentle tones. Warm smiles in the gas stations. Faces, beautiful faces. Eyes.

8 hour drive from Chicago to Minneapolis. I drive slow. The speed limit. Keeps the car fresh! 900 miles I have driven so far. Another couple hundred tomorrow then I'll be at the Hermitage. 1100 or so total (not 1800!).



From there? I will let you know when I can.



Inspiration?



Live like there is no tomorrow. Because there isn't.


Thanks,

Karl

Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb