Bowling for a Green Card


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Minneapolis
March 10th 2007
Published: March 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I walked across a frozen, snow-dusted river. The St Croix River, here near Bayport where our lovely friends Jon and Steph Reid live just a while away from the Twin Cities. It's a wide, wide river. Scratching back inches of snow, we found the ice - almost black seeming with the cold water underneath. I would have thought I'd feel fear, but I didn't. I guess that is a good metaphor for my whole journey here - anticpating terror, but feeling so many other things instead. Joy, beauty, aloneness and some sadness. I can't tell you how much I find myself constantly amazed on this trip. Just when I think my experience cannot be expanded any further, something pushes me beyond the boundaries of what I know or expect. I guess that's wonder - a thing we should never lose.

So, yes, this is Minnesota - my beloved Garrison Keillor country. I finally understand the mores of Lake Woebegone - this is the land of a thousand lakes, after all. It's snowy and pretty (and very sunny and clement - I didn't wear a coat today!), but very much like most of non-urban America - concrete malls on highways with restaurants which make America less appealing. Minneapolis is very much a shiny skyscraper city, but also the most English / dull (!) I have encountered. The skyways to keep people out of the snow fly high above the streets like modern Bridges of Sighs, but there's not much to report really- I've heard St Paul is older and more characterful. I didn't see any hint of his Purpleness, Prince, as that would've been fun.

But it is fascinating - in a Twin Peaks sort of way (high praise from me - there's even a wood mill/ place!). Bayport is a pretty little town with the basic amenities - including the fabulously funny Woody's Bar where we went last night. I ate the world's worst meal - how could I dine more badly than in Florida? - a hideously cold macaroni cheese. Then I bowled for the first time which was hilarious as I was UTTERLY USELESS. I think I wheeled the bowl down the gutter more often than not - lthough I did get all the pins down once (well, the scoring computer thought so, even if the ninth pin seemed to be standing!). A quintessential American happening. I did drink too! Naughty me!

The Mall of America is also ludicrous - a vast labyrinth of capitalist mayhem. Whatever you want or don't want, it's there. I did see the most smashing pair of cowboy boots, but we don't have enough money ... another time, I guess. It seemse that every assistant was a gay musical star touting my hubby for a part in his show! I could envision a whole short story collection about that place! The best moment was certainly on the log flume - an extraveganza of evil robotic beavers and moose! And plunges which sent my stomach into my ears and my clothes to the dry cleaners. Well, I got splashed, but not too drenched. I have a great picture of us screaming! I felt five again!

Better go to bed. I think we're off to some state parks and Duluth tomorrow to see Lake Superior - the angry, ship-eating lake. The furthest north I'll have been here.

I don't know how I'm going to cope with coming home. I am sort of dreading it. If I didn't have you fabulous people there ... !! I have some leads on grants for space research and possible collaboration with a woman who used to work at NASA on her book/ screenplay. We'll see. Here begins my plan to emigrate ... Oh, green card come my way!! I don't knwo how I'm going to ever stop boring you all with photos and stories! Someone suggested I publish this blog - or even keep it going at home. But then what could I write in downtown Lewes to match this craziness??



Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb