Minnesota Landscape Arboretum


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Minnesota » Chaska
October 9th 2013
Published: February 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

In between my assignments from Oklahoma to Southern California. I made my way back up to Minnesota via 35. It was a good visit with the family and seeing my nephews is always a pleasure. While there, I took the boys to pick out pumpkins. I also manage to make my way to GameStop and buy video games (it's what aunts do).

While I was there, I also made my way to the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum which is by the University of Minnesota. The Twin Cities did not appear to have "Botanical Garden" but this will do. Though growing up in Minnesota, this was my first time here and I thought it was just beautiful. Nice layout but not very handicap friendly because of the space (hills, paths, bridges). But it was so big that you literally drove your car around it for a 3 mile loop. There were many different sections of the Arboretum. Including the Rose garden area, tree and Shrub collection (which was the first for me in any garden/arboretum), and an art collection garden.

During this particular time in October they were displaying Harvest; at the entrance they had a number of different scarecrows in different forms. Some were from pumpkins, another with baskets, and others with large veggies.

The price overall was pretty reasonable consider the size and the prices of other places like it. Price for 13 & up was $12; free on Thursday November thru March. Membership starts at $49-so if you plan on returning, that may be a better option. I would like to mention, the cost at the restaurant is pretty pricey considering what they give you and nothing really spectacular.

Overall it was a nice way to spend a few hours. It is located outside of Minneapolis, in the southwest suburb of Chaska.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

ArboretumArboretum
Arboretum

One of the many "scarecrows". This one in an angel/fairy figure.
ArboretumArboretum
Arboretum

U of Minnesota mascot (Golden Gopher). There were a number of them throughout but painted differently. This one just so happen to be painted as the mascot would appear.
ArboretumArboretum
Arboretum

At the entrance.


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb