News just came today


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Grand Rapids
November 8th 2007
Published: November 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My E2 visa arrived! I just got the call from my recruiter in Seoul. Kai has been great. She's from Good Day Korea. She's answered all my paranoid questions and given me the valuable info I need to be sure I'll be knowledgable about my decision to go and teach in this country. I emailed her tonight with a question about the new law about criminal background checks for foreign teachers wanting the visa. She said it won't go into effect until December but they don't have a date, and I don't need to worry about it.

So, the next step... I have to get my passport down to get stamped at the Korean Consulate in Chicago. Shasha said he'd bring me. We might make it an overnight trip and stay at a hotel, and see some sites if we can afford it. I think I actually have to schedule an interview with someone at the Consulate. But these things have a way of working themselves out. As of now I know that I'll need my passport, 45$, the visa issuance number, and maybe a copy of the contract...but that is something I'll ask the staff member at the consulate.

Now the next step comes of deciding what to do about these other job offers. I've had an interview at a TV station in Grand Rapids and just got a call tonight to interview for an assistant librarian position at ITT Tech, also in GR. My family is making a bigger deal out of me going than necessary. Understandably moving your life to a foreign country is a big step, but really 'risking my life' and 'being selfish' comments are getting really old. I'm 22 years old, have depended and been grateful on my family for that entire time. I have my college degree and this opportunity. Why wouldn't I take it? I've researched and requested information as much as I can. I've saved money and done lots of soul searching to feel out if being away from my family for a year is worth the experience.

All answers bring me to a big white wall with huge red letters painted Y E S.

I will go to Jinju. I will teach at Global Language School. I will travel and live my life away from home for a year. I will cry and miss my family, but I will also laugh and know I made the right decision. And in the end if it all turns out the opposite of what I've planned, well it's a good thing I have since erased the word 'mistake' from my vocabulary. Because I don't make mistakes. I don't regret what I thought would make me happy or build my life in a positive way. I just follow through with my goals on a step by step process and hope for the best.



Advertisement



8th November 2007

congrats
Congrats on this amazing opportunity! I have all the faith in the world that you are making the right choice. This job sounds amazing and I am slightly jealous of your travel. Good Luck!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb