Home, sweet home - until I move in June, of course


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Ann Arbor
March 15th 2009
Published: March 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, after a 14 hour flight from Sydney to LA, an 8 hour lay over in LAX, and a 4 hour flight to Detroit, I found myself back at home at 2 am not quite sure which time zone my head, body, or heart were in. (Can we get any more cheesy than that ?!?) The rest of my Sydney trip was incredible. Most notably, I climbed to the top of the Sydney Harbor Bridge, and was able to view the Northern and Southern ends of the Sydney Harbor from standing atop of the highest peak of the bridge. Words really can't describe the experience. The rest of my days were mainly spent touring the city and learning Irish drinking songs.

Australia is the first place I have traveled abroad where I felt like I was home. I really think I could move there to live and work, though it would be hard to have my family so far away. I will be moving somewhere in this country for residency in June, so we'll see how that transition goes before I entertain further thoughts of an overseas relocation. There are multiple fellowship opportunities abroad, so I could always spend a
Ariel sighting #2Ariel sighting #2Ariel sighting #2

A secondhand book store in The Rocks in Sydney
year in training in Australia, and figure things out from there.

So, some highlights of my trip, though hard to pin down:

1) Scuba diving in Fiji
2) Sight seeing on the Great Ocean Road
3) Wine tasting in the Mornington Peninsula
4) Climbing the Sydney Harbor Bridge
5) All the wonderful friends I made
6) Random pictures in cardboard body cutouts (see photos)

Thanks for sharing my travels with me; traveling is always sweeter when you know you have wonderful friends and family to come home to. And in the end, I think that's truly what makes a home.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 69; dbt: 0.138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb