The Departure (Part 2)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Michigan » Ann Arbor
January 24th 2008
Published: January 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Around the time of my first departure, I experienced my life's happiest moments, and soon thereafter I encountered its saddest. A period of 5 days brought all the felicities of love, friendship, and voyage, along with the extreme heartbreak and melancholy that comes with the mourning of a fallen comrade and brother. Such concentrated emotion stacked on top of 45 hours of continuous travel is more stimulation than I'd ever ask for. No sooner than 8 hrs. after I had landed at Santiago's Arturo Merino Benítez International Airport had I made preparations to return home that evening.

Returning home, I had focused solely on honoring my brother and supporting my family. These accomplished, I now intend to return to Chile (I leave the 29th) and continue my travels through Peru. I thank all those who have shown me and my family support, and the University of Michigan for getting me home and back again.

Surely my travels begin anew with an evolved purpose. In recent years, much of my energy has been dedicated to my personal and spiritual growth, and to the refinement of my character. While more of this was certainly anticipated on my original journey, the passing
Warning: These cigarettes ARE KILLING YOU Warning: These cigarettes ARE KILLING YOU Warning: These cigarettes ARE KILLING YOU

A shop's rather straightforward sign on cigarettes
of my brother principally marks a renewed urgency in this respect.

I managed to snap one good photo while in Chile, enjoy!







Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb