Final Weekend...


Advertisement
Published: May 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post


Yes! Thursday is Donut Day!!!
Hello!

So, it's been a good week at Riggs - very interesting and feel a lot more resilient now (thanks to the help of Riggs!) On Thursday (donut day 😊 ), I had my last supervision session with Dr David Mintz - he's away at a national conference this week, so we had our final meeting on Thursday evening, after work. We decided to go for a hike (yes, a hike!) up Monument Mountain - a trail that has amazing views at the top (pics included). It was a great supervision and got loads out of it!

Barbara and Steve are away this weekend, so I have the place to myself. The weather this weekend has been fantastic! Yesterday (Saturday), I decided to explore Stockbridge. Spent lots of time looking in the quaint local shops, and then walked up to the National Shrine of the Divine Mercy (a Catholic Mecca). It was beautiful up there! After some coffee, I met up with a couple of patients to go on a tour of the local burial ground - a fascinating place with loads of interesting stories - for example, the man who laid the firs transatlantic cable is buried there.

View from Monument Mountain - venue of my final supervision session with my supervisor - Dr David Mintz.
I was most struck by the grave of McBurney. He's the physician who 'discovered' appendicitis and is famous for his synonymous 'McBurney's sign' - tenderness elicited upon palpation between the pubic symphisis and anterior superior iliac spine in the right iliac fossa (hope I got that right!!!). He's also acclaimed for introducing the use of gloves in the surgical theatre environment for surgeons! Also, I learnt that Austen Fox Riggs (founder of the Austen Riggs Institute) was McBurney's son-in-law! Who'd have known?!

Today, the weather's been pretty rubbish - grey and rainy; as well as being a little cold. Decided to take a look around Great Barrington - some great local shops; as well as walking along the Housatonic River Trail (2 pics attached). The weather's not set to improve for this final week, and I saw we're due electric storms on Tuesday and Wednesday. Chilling with coffee and TV this afternoon, before my last week at Riggs!

Gonna miss Massachusetts and the Berkshires a great deal - it's been fantastic, and Riggs has been life-changing. I am also very much looking forward to coming home next weekend though! Will blog later this week!

Jonny x


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



View from Monument Mountain - venue of my final supervision session with my supervisor - Dr David Mintz.


View from Monument Mountain - venue of my final supervision session with my supervisor - Dr David Mintz.


View from Monument Mountain - venue of my final supervision session with my supervisor - Dr David Mintz.


National Shrine of The Divine Mercy.


National Shrine of The Divine Mercy.


National Shrine of The Divine Mercy.


Resting place of McBurney.


Housatonic River Trail.


Housatonic River Trail.


20th May 2013

Blog response
Hi Jon Great blog great pics too. Pleased you have explored the local countryside and enjoyed it so much. I'm surprised at the changeability of the weather over there just like good old England! Have a great week looking forward to seeing you soon - will I understand your US accent? lots of love Mum x

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb