1 Week 2 Go


Advertisement
Published: July 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0



UntitledWell, I finally got this blog set up. I would have done it sooner, but who really wants to hear about needles the doctor insisted on sticking in my arms. I have spent the past month researching all the places we will go...maybe. It seems that even though SE Asia is a mere 480,000 sq. mi. (approx an 1/8 of the size of the U.S. and for you New Englanders, NE is 70,000 sq. mi.) covering all of that territory will be difficult as transportation is unreliable. This is yet to be seen though. Laos, for example, doesn't have a railroad system AT ALL. It can't be any worse than the road to Timbukto...can it?

I am always interested in how people live in these far off places of the world, duh why else would i go. Here are some intereting facts I found out about these countries:

note: wealth rankings listed are according to the CIA factbook and based on GDP. This means that this is how much money people would make in a year IF IF IF all of the income of that country was divided equally amoungst all of the people in the country.


Laos: Population: 6,500,000
Area: 91,000 Sq. Mi.
Ranked 131 out of 179.
Per Capita Income: $440
People living below poverty line: 40%! (MISSING)

Cambodia: Population 14,000,000
Area: 70,000 Sq. Mi.
Ranked 123 out of 179.
Per Capita Income: $380
Median Age: 21
34%!o(MISSING)f Cambodians live for under $1 a day

Vietnam: Population 83,535,000
Area: 127,000 Sq. Mi.
Ranked 121 out of 179.
Per Capita Income: $620
Literacy Rate: 93%!((MISSING)wow!)
People living below poverty line: 20%! (MISSING)

United States: Population: 301,000,000
Area: 3,500,000 Sq. Mi.
Ranked 6 out of 179
Per Capita Income: $43,740
Literacy Rate: 97%! (MISSING)
People living below poverty line: 12%! (MISSING)

Ok, Ok, sorry for going all teacherly on you, I just kept finding more bits of useless information!! Sometimes I just can't help myself. After all, it is my blog.

Well, I will keep you all posted as departure date nears. Now off to sew some mosquito nets.

eric

Advertisement



22nd July 2007

We're here!
Hi guys, As always, we're the first to snoop the travel blog, haha. Does that mean we have no life? Ahh, no answer required Eric..... ;) Seriously, we're glad to come along and can't wait to follow your adventures. Will bookmark this blog and you can be sure we'll be checking in to hear all the fabulous stories of the journey. Post lots of pictures. Hopefully Gabrielle and Matt are wise button pushers where digital cameras are concerned, eh? Ahhh..... Good luck. Stay safe, be well and have fun! love, Suze and Gia
22nd July 2007

When are you leaving?
Hey Eric, When are you heading out? I will enjoy your escapades! Did you get a backup hard drive for you photo cards? I hope so! Chris
23rd July 2007

Save travels....
Hi Eric. So, you're off again. We're looking forward to joining you once again! Safe travels. Take care, The Newells
23rd July 2007

sounds exciting!
Reyna and I are psyched that you are willing to share your stories from a mutual passion -- travel! Looking forward to reading all about this trek ... take care and most of all ENJOY!!! ~~David and Reyna Gontaruk
23rd July 2007

Enjoy!
Hope you have a wonderful trip. Thanks for sharing. Alfie
24th July 2007

('Hi' is a lame title so the title is 'Chabudinky')
Hi Eric!!! Can't wait to hear more about your trip. Hehe, I didn't honestly know you were going on a trip but I hope it goes well all the same. I also hope this comment ends up where I want it and not on some random dude's page or something. There are like 3 buttons to make comments and I don't know if I'm doing this right but that's ok!!! And let me take this oppurtunity to say I'm finally 12 (and vegetarian, even if I can't spell it)! Have fun, and don't fall on the camera like my dad did in Utah. -Kylie-
25th July 2007

Sawatadee/Hello and Goodbye
Hi Eric, Title is supposed to mean both in Thai. This is the extent of my knowledge on that for now. You are off again, enjoy and stay safe. have anotehr wonderful experience. Bring back lots of knowledge to share with all of us and your students. Looking forward to following on this trip with all of you. Lucille
30th July 2007

RE: Glass half full
And now you see why the Rogier boys don't return to the East Coast.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb