Thank You, Boston.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
August 14th 2011
Published: August 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Portugal in BostonPortugal in BostonPortugal in Boston

SATA advertising flights to Madeira on Boston public transportation.
It is August 14 which means that I must have just spent two weeks in Boston. While I'm sitting in the airport waiting to board a flight to Las Vegas "disoriented" is perhaps the best way to describe my current state. Three weeks ago I was in Madrid finishing my MBA. Two weeks ago I was in Porto saying good-bye to everyone and everything that I'd come to love over the past year. The past 14 days have a been a roller-coaster of interviews, abusing the MBTA, fast food, life-altering choices, and most importantly reunions with friends from college, Indiana, Peace Corps, and past colleagues. As I try to describe it all perhaps"overwhelming" is a better adjective.

Boston in the summer is a beautiful place. Despite the hour long trips on the B-train and waiting for the 86, everything seems so easy. It was easy to forget that it snows here for months on end, making all the walking joys of summer harrowing daily challenges.

Regardless, it was good to come back as always and renew friendships. Although I don't often see the people in my life, they are truly wonderful. Their ability to put up with my constant bouncing around is boundless and something that I appreciate greatly. These past few days so many people asked me "what are you doing now?" to which I could only honestly answer: "I don't know." And that was okay. They offered a patient smile or hug and offered support in any way they could. While I'm sure these kinds of interactions would happen in most places, the fact that they always happen in Boston for me makes it the closest thing I have to home. And for that, I will always be connected and eternally grateful to this small and beautiful city.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb