Arnold Arboretum


Advertisement
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Finding Arnold Arboretum proved a bit more difficult than I foresaw. Supposedly, all you have to do is get off the subway at the Forest Hills station and follow the signs. I saw NO signs! However, there was construction inside the station and directly across the street which may have been blocking the signs. The crowd at the station appeared a bit more shady, resembling the typical Atlanta Marta station, but I never felt unsafe, just uneasy and cautious mainly cause I was a tourist.

Basically, just leave the station on the NE? side and walk across the street along a fence heading left until you find an opening. Now do not be confused, although this entrance is filled with gravel and not much flora, it is an actual path; just follow it awhile and you'll start seeing the signs labeling plants/trees and then you'll reach a second entrance to the main park. While the main park is still not completely isolated from the city noise, its winding paths, brook/mini-creek, colorful bushes and trees, lonely hill, and loyal runners more than make up for it. I took a few pictures of plants I found particularly pretty. I would suggest visiting this park if you are interested in a new place to run but do not think you will hate yourself for not seeing it as a tourist. Also, its too small to bike inside, but you may enjoy biking through it. There is a marked (well-known?) bike path right across from the T-station....that I walked down a ways thinking it would lead to the arboretum at first but clearly was mistaken.

I had not exercised since I had arrived, so I went for a jog to the top of the hill (longer path than I expected) and back. It had become so warm that I had to remove my jacket and hat. Hence, I jogged while carrying two Sam Adam's glasses, my jacket, hat, mp3 player, camera, wallet, phone, and keys...with only two packets. Still had fun though! Leaving the park from another path I caught a glimpse of the west end of the park with some really nice trees, lush grass, and a nice pond.

Heading back to the T-Station, I caught the Orange Line to Mass Ave to hit my next destination - Fenway Park! I needed to pack several sights in today to feel productive enough - only a few days left in Boston.






Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

PrettyPretty
Pretty

Arnold Arboretum are basically just well manicured woods with a few colorful exceptions and fantastic running paths
Labeled Japanese Lilac BushLabeled Japanese Lilac Bush
Labeled Japanese Lilac Bush

The Arboretum has several labeled plants all around to make for a more interesting run
Heading up Bussey HillHeading up Bussey Hill
Heading up Bussey Hill

Beautiful Greenery
Bussey Hill SummitBussey Hill Summit
Bussey Hill Summit

Nothin much...
Don't Know What this Building IsDon't Know What this Building Is
Don't Know What this Building Is

But I liked its architecture
Favorite Residential BuildingFavorite Residential Building
Favorite Residential Building

The Fire Escapes made for a very intriguing structure
A Fraternity on a Road this BusyA Fraternity on a Road this Busy
A Fraternity on a Road this Busy

I very much enjoyed seeing how all the universities and other entities were set inBoston and incorporated into the city
Richard Memorial Victory GardensRichard Memorial Victory Gardens
Richard Memorial Victory Gardens

Nice refresher on the way to Fenway Park


Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb