The Chrnicles of Bostonia 2008, Part III - Countdown to Ecstacy


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Friday 11th January: Had a half day today but Kev had to go off and do some paperwork, so it took me 100 minutes to get home by public transport in the rain and had a message from Ryan when I got home. But I was in a foul mood and just ate junk food and watched Liza Minelli (in New York, New York) trying hilariously to out act De Niro. Amazing! Ate pizza with Laura when she got in from work and chilled on the couch in front of House. God, Hugh Laurie is quality! On Saturday I walked Reilly around the pond and watched the kids for a couple of hours until Laura’s friend Regina arrived from Ireland for a few days of extreme shopping. I made a curry for seven (me, Laura, Reg, Alex, Melissa, Jamal, Jen and little Zia (3)) and Alex brought some weed brownies. Unfortunately they were not as hardcore as they were at his party and and ours was more of a gathering anyway to watch the Patriots beat the Jacksonville Jaguars for a place in the AFC Conference game against the San Diego Chargers. Well I’ve always had a soft spot for the Green Bay Packers because of me Uncle Mick’s knitted jumper (looking like a football equivalent of the awesome Oakland A’s I went to see 15 years ago now) who play New York Giants in the NFC Conference next week. Go Packers!
I have also decided to follow the New York Rangers (Hockey) as I feel I wanna spread the love between cities and mainly because its like Queens Park Rangers, except not quite as good!!
So, not that it counts for much, my teams are Baseball - Oakland A’s, B/Ball - Boston Celtics, Gridiron - GB Packers, and Hockey - N Y Rangers. Nice!
The brownies didn’t really kick home but I was quite euphoric it was Saturday and everyone bought beers so I nailed about ten of them until everyone left around midnight, the cute, clever and very well behaved Zia, full of sugar and with more energy than everyone else. Especially Regina who was struggling to keep her eyes open after a 20-odd hour day and a smidgen of jetlag.

On Sunday 13th after driving to Somerville for a big brekkie and strawberry milkshake at Kelly’s, Reg (a Cate Blanchett look-a-like), Laura and I walked along the Charles River down past the North End and into State and Quincy Market for a nose around, dodging the joggers and other sub zero enthusiasts. We stopped in the Purple Shamrock for a pint before heading home, where we watched Eastern Promises (excellent thriller) and the awful Golden Globes, which was just the results because the writer’s guild are on strike here!

Monday - after a rubbish night’s sleep, the working week came around far too early with 8 inches of snow overnight and I was on all fours hoovering and cleaning up the demolition work at five to eight wanting nothing more than my bed. After work, Aidan picked me up and Reg, Laura and I met at the Galleria in Cambridge for dinner. Regina had been there since 11am and $750 and 8 hours later we were all sat in The Cheesecake Factory stuffing our faces with burgers and cheesecake at very reasonable prices for such ridiculous portions! The Morrocan cab driver chatted to us all the way home by which time we were ready to crash in front of Deal or No Deal. The next day involved the same thing at work and crashing at home in front of the hilarious American Idol with a veggie tuna pasta. It is sad that some Americans see that twat Simon Cowell as a representation of Britain as he is one hell of a nobhead, funny to watch the bad auditions though.

Wed - Waterproof Painting at work today and for the rest of the week, which would render my right arm with pins and needles for a week, but was ultimately a nice change from sweeping, hoovering, etc. Reg flew home late in the afternoon after spending $1600 in 4 days - jaysis. She seemed happy enough though and it was nice to be sharing that massive house with someone else again. Joe at work today was talking about effing jews and the film the 10 commandments (not one to mince his words again) with ‘Charleston’ Heston. Well that had John and Kev in stitches after he had left with a chuckle and the punchline: Blood makes poor mortar!’ Good old stereotyping, racist, xenophobic, liar Joe - where would we be without ya? Am I right?
Oh yeah Kevin Keegan took over at Newcastle today so will be interesting to see how he gets on this time around. Sorry this blog sucks - it will get better in the next three weeks though, once we head to South America!!

On Thursday, I spoke to my mother as it was the 8th anniversary of my father’s death. It was nice to hear her voice and it would seem her boyfriend Roger has been awarded an MBE for service to Buldings. Congrats! I was glad I was busy today though and kept my mind on the work, until the evening when Laura and I drove to Davis Square to Somerville Theatre to watch The Bucket List (with a pint!) - one third of which was pretty cheesy, but very enjoyable nonetheless and me and Laura had sobbed into our popcorn buy the all-too-familiar end. We went to Orleans for a pint and then got home, after realizing we forgot to feed the meter and got ourselves a $20 fine. Gosh Darn it!

On Saturday, the kids did a theatre performance of a made up show they wrote. Very funny! After getting a couple of tops and a cheap pair of New Balance off road trainers for $35 (so cheap!), Laura and I caught the tram into Park Street and walked down to an English pub called the Elephant & Castle, where I had fish ‘n’ chips and a few pints of black and tan. Then we headed to the Orpheum where we got into the Editors gig for $32. The sound was the best I have heard in a while and Tom Brown’s voice was awesome and the drummer Ed Lay was incredible. Two weak songs in an eighty minute set. Got home via Medford Square and a thirty minute walk in our new trainers and had a beer in our pants on the couch before bed.

Sunday was spent changing a flat tyre on the car, which was a bummer as it was minus ten. Then we walked to the top of this hill to Wright’s Tower for an awesome view of Boston and to try out me new camera (sorry, photos will follow soon - I am lame I know).Then Café Burke (as the kids called it) was opened and Cullen, Keva, and Emma made me toast with honey, pizza, tea and hot chocolate followed by ice cream, with hand written menus and all sorts. They are so well behaved these kids its totally refreshing! Then we watched the two football matches - Patriots 21-12 Chargers and Packers 20-23 New York (boo hoo!) - unlucky Bret Fav-er rah and the boys! So the Superbowl on Sunday Feb 3rd in Arizona will be the undefeated New England Patriots vs New York Giants (who would have thought it after New York barely beat the 2-14 Miami Dolphins at Wembley end of October! Emailed Roger Jones to tell him I am up for Wimbledon 2008 (8 in a row) and did two crosswords before bed.

Monday 21st - bought a pair of jeans and two hoodies and two hats in Marshall’s for $50 - TK Maxx eat your nob off! - and then walked Reilly and looked after the kids until Sheila got back from Maine. Then I went home and did some Spanish and rented Little Miss Sunshine from the corner shop fot the night. Until next time mon friends, take care and keep safe 2008 x Tom

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb