Boston, Massachusetts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
October 9th 2007
Published: October 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

October 4 - 6, 2007



This was my first time ever going to the New England area and I absolutely adored it. I flew into Logan International at 5pm on the 4th of October. Landing I could see hundreds - probably thousands - of sailboats and all of these old 3 or 4-story homes that you see on TV and look haunted. It was exactly how I pictured New England looking.

I stayed at the Hyatt Harborside Hotel which is across the harbor from downtown Boston. The view from my room was amazing! I went downstairs and had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the view from my seat was the sun setting over Boston. As the lights came on I grabbed my camera and took some pictures of the city all lit up. Breathtaking! I also enjoyed my first real cup of New England Clam Chowder - sooooo awesome!

I got up early the next morning and left my hotel about 8:40am to take a cab into Boston for my Duck Tour. I arrived early so I went into the Prudential Center and bought a Red Sox hat for my tour. I then boarded my Duck and
On the Duck TourOn the Duck TourOn the Duck Tour

This was shot on the water portion of our tour.
we headed out for a 2 hour land and water tour of Boston. So much to see and so much information to take in. My head was spinning by the time I got off of the Duck.

I hopped in another cab and went over to the Boston Common area where I started (on my own) the Freedom Trail. You follow this red line (and sometimes red bricks) down sidewalks and streets that take you through a 2.5 mile stretch of Colonial Boston. Amazing! I think I enjoyed this more than the Duck Tour because I got to stand and read my $2 brochure and look at stuff at my own pace. I went to the Old Granary Burial Ground and saw Paul Revere's grave and John Hancock's as well. I saw the first Anglo-Saxon church in America as well as the first public school. Paul Revere's house and the Old North Church were awesome too. The history is so amazing it's just hard to comprehend.

I stopped for lunch along the trail at the Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall area and ate at The Purple Shamrock, which is apparently infamous in Boston. I didn't know it at the time, but apparently it's a staple of that area. I enjoyed some lobster bisque and a salad with tuna, lobster and crab, plus a shandy.

I walked most of the trail myself - only left out the last two spots because it was humid and I was sooo tired. I took a (scary) ride in a cab back to the hotel so I could do a walk through for our workshop the next day.

Later that night the dinner we hosted was in a pavilion (aka large tent) outside on the hotel grounds and it was so beautiful! Our backdrop was Boston all lit up and I think everyone enjoyed it.

The next day I worked all day and then headed to the airport. It was a short trip, but my first time there, and I enjoyed myself thoroughly. I will definitely go back!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb