Final Blog... Back to Kansas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
August 15th 2005
Published: August 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

I’m at the end of this six-week trip. The cash funds are low… and I start school in just three days… but… I couldn’t be happier.

On a closing note to this whole travel blog, I thought I try to recount some of the most memorable moments and random thoughts over the past six weeks.

Scariest Moment:
When our Ryan Airlines pilot overshot the runway on our way to Paris and banked the 737-ish plane about a 100 feet off the ground… I thought for sure we’d crash… or at least hit a telephone pole. Everyone clapped when he finally got it right.

Most Embarrasing Moment:
In Brussels, I woke up at roughly 3 am one night to use the bathroom. I was surprised to see the men’s bathroom occupied so I took a risk and used the the women’s bathroom. Somehow, when whichever guy using the men’s bathroom left… he left the door open at just the right angle to catch the doorknob of the adjacent women’s bathroom door when I tried to exit… effectively locking me inside. I spend about two minutes trying a number of techniques before I was satisfied to repeatedly throw the weight of my body into the door… again… and again. I got out… but I’m pretty sure they had to replace parts on that door.

Second Most Embarrasing Moment:
Also in Brussels - my hostel room key card stopped working in the middle of the night as I, coincidently, took a trip to the bathroom. As I walked to the front desk thinking no big deal and outfitted with shorts, shirt, and a massive case of bed head, I was beat to the punch by two busloads of Ethopian soccer players. I waited for about 20 minutes in a lobby full of loud, drunk people before I finally decided to wake up my hostel mates.

Happiest Moment:
Finally arriving in Barcelona after a day of bad luck… eating tapas and drinking spanish beer in a local restaurant.

Funniest Moment:
While in Amsterdam on the third day, I awoke to a “fart orchestra” in my hostel room of 14 dudes. I kid you not… at approximately 7:30 am… I heard someone fart at least once every 30 seconds for a half hour. I believe it was Guinness record worthy.

Most Painful Moment:
Getting ready to board my train in London on our way to Spain and realizing I lost my digital camera

Best things about Europe:
(1) Better music, (2) history/beauty

Worst things about Europe:
(1) Funky body odor everywhere, (2) no refills, (3) horrible exchange rate

That's all... thanks for reading.


Advertisement



27th August 2005

Heyy
hey, you really gave me a lot of insight on europe. im going there for 7 weeks studying abroad, but not really studying just traveling but the school loans pay for it. if you could please contact me on great places to go i would really appreciate it Thank you nicole

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb