Travel 2021


Advertisement
Published: June 6th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Today is my grandson Andy's 21st birthday. I missed his birth because I was on reserve duty in Naples Italy at the time, but when I got home I spent 6 weeks with the family helping out. I am sorry I missed his birth, but I will always remember where I was on that day. He asked for alcohol as a birthday present, and since he probably never had a drink in his life, I thought that was kind of interesting. So he and his mom figured out some drinks he might like to try and they are going to present them one day at a time. No alcoholic blackout for this boy. Tomorrow I head to Allentown to spend 5 days with my brother. Of course that means I will have to hit the farmers' market before I come back and load up on kielbasa and shaved beef (for good old Philly cheesesteaks). Mostly it will be hanging with my baby brother though. We have a great relationship, we can hang for hours and not say a thing or we can go shopping or visiting. A lot of time is spent in comparing what series we are hooked on now on Netflix or Acorn or Britbox. No really, we just enjoy each other's company and talk a lot. 8 more days before we head for HI. My son-in-law tells me not to fret the small stuff, that my daughter has the worry part covered. I am just antsy about this stupid CoVid 19 test we have to take no more than 72 hours before we fly. I mean really, math class never taught me how to figure what time I would have to take a test by in order to factor in the 6 hour flight to LAX and the 3 different time zones. Not only that, but there are very few places to get the test that are approved by the state of HI, and you have to make sure you get the results so they can be in QR code on your phone when you arrive in the state. I sure as heck do not want to have to quarantine with all the things we have planned. Would you believe that now there is a market for CoVid card holders? They are sort of like a cross between an amusement park ticket on a lanyard and a passport holder. AAAARRRRGGGGHHHH! Well, enough moaning. Almost time for the birthday boy's dinner, ice cream cake, presents and drink. Think tonight's choice is a Blue Hawaiian, in preparation for our trip. More later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0978s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb