Going Home Is Not Always Easy; Wheaton, MD


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Silver Spring
September 30th 2009
Published: October 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Chee You HouseChee You HouseChee You House

12017 Centerhill Street, Wheaton, MD
Check this off my bucket list: going home to Wheaton, Maryland. One of our local radio personalities, Van Harden, shared how he visited his elementary and high school a couple of years ago. So on my last trip to Washington DC, I did just that.

A little back story might help. We came to the US from Trinidad in 1968. We settled in Wheaton, MD. I started school in third grade, skipped the 11th grade, graduated in 1977 and then joined the USAF in 1978. I lived in Idaho and since 1980, call Iowa my home.

Let’s start with the family house at 12017 Centerhill Street; I think we called this a split house back in 1968. Today they would call it a Townhome.

I haven’t seen this house since 1981, so it was nice to see what it looked like. We had one bathroom and three bedrooms upstairs, living room, dining room and kitchen on the main floor and laundry room in the basement.

At any one given time we had 8-12 people living here; ma, pa, Uncle Frank, Uncle Fred, Aunt Arlene and Cousin Lisa. The house and the neighborhood looked great. The one thing
Holiday Elementary SchoolHoliday Elementary SchoolHoliday Elementary School

Cradle to Grave, Elementary to Senior Citizen Center
missing is the two tall pine trees that were in-front of the house. When we were locked out, we would climb the pine trees up to the mid-roof and enter through the front windows (parents bedroom). Tony, remember the movie projector from Wards that we kept in the attic? For sure…no real great memories here but nice to see the old house.

I went to elementary school, 3-6th grade, by bus to Holiday Park. It’s now a senior citizens center and the building looks really good. I had a great 6th grade teacher, Mrs. Wasserman and I remember making shoe-fly pie. The first few years of school here was tough. There was a lot adjusting to do; food, language and weather. In all, we adjusted well and I enjoyed my time here.

For junior high, we walked to Belt Jr. High. The school is still there but it’s been renamed, A. Mario Loiederman Middle School. A little bit of research: Belt closed sometime in the late 80’s and was leased out to a private religious school and after a spike in enrollment, the school was reopened in 2005. The newly opened school was named after A. Mario Loiederman;
Belt Jr. HighBelt Jr. HighBelt Jr. High

My Junior High School now a Middle School, Wheaton, MD.
a civil engineer well known for projects around the metro area. The middle school is a “school for the creative performing arts” and the address is in Silver Spring, not Wheaton. Now that's different.


I remember the long walk to school which was nearly a mile. That was a long walk for a kid. I had great memories at Belt; loved home economics, gym and math class. I did a a dance in ninth grade with Valarie Burdette (Martin) to Kung Fu Fighting. Even today, when that song comes on, I go back to 9th grade. Also in Mr. D’s math class, he so loved the song “Making Love In My Chevy Van”. I may not of been miss smarty pants, but I did make the 9th grade field hockey team.

On to Wheaton High School and it too has had a change. The school is connected to Tomas Edison HS of Technology. This was another school that I walked to, nearly a mile. No wonder I was skinny as a rail back then. I only spent two years there as I skipped the 11th grade.


I know I missed out on a lot of
High School DaysHigh School DaysHigh School Days

Wheaton High School, Wheaton, MD
good times. You see, my mom made us go to summer school, so by 10th grade we had enough credits to graduate early. In 10th grade I was with my normal class and in 12th grade, I was with my brother Larry’s class. I can’t say I had a lot of good memories, but do remember hanging out with the track team in 10th grade, Frankie and Molly ??? and Ms. Mac was the track and volleyball coach. Did she coach basketball too? Other than gym, I loved Home Ec. with Mrs. Fry and English with Mr. Gentle.

The last year was a blur and I’m thankful I made it out of there in one piece. I graduated June 6, 1977 and for our senior trip, we went to Kings Dominion and I saw Seals and Kroft singing “Summer Breeze”. I love that song.

Here’s a picture of downtown Wheaton and where Little Tavern once sat. My dad, Uncle Frank and Fred all worked there. They had the greatest burgers and pies…..deelish and yummmmO!

I’ll end by letting you know that I’ve reconnected with a few of my high school chums over the last few months via
WheatonWheatonWheaton

Plaque showing some Wheaton History and Little Tavern
Facebook, so it was time for me get this trip down on print. If only I had one more year at Wheaton, I may have been…..who knows?

Above The Best,

Ann Anhalt
Class of 77'




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Wheaton High SchoolWheaton High School
Wheaton High School

Wheaton High, Wheaton, MD
Family HomeFamily Home
Family Home

12017 Centerhill Street, Wheaton, MD


7th October 2009

Very nice trip down memory lane.
26th February 2010

memories
This brings back so many memories. wow! We lived in 12020 centerhill. great post.
22nd January 2016

I knew your brother, Glen.
22-Jan-16 I stumbled on this post, and when I saw the caption of the first picture, 'Chee You House', my eyes got big and I said to myself, "I knew Glen! I went to school with him." I remember Glen had a paper route and a few times I did the paper route with him. I even substituted for him a few times while he was on vacation. Glen was a cool guy. I lived at 12228 Center Hill St, four houses from the corner of Goodhill Rd. If you get a chance to read this, tell Glen that Alex said "Hi!"

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1012s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb