Leftovers...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Baltimore » Inner Harbor
August 20th 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, unfortunately, the weather this past weekend was somewhat dreary, so I didn't get a chance to go out and have any new adventures. However, the delay gave me a chance to clean out my camera's memory and I found 13 pictures from my trip to the Inner Harbor that I forgot to post. So let's re-live that adventure and hope the weather is fantastic this weekend! (Forecast says partly sunny and temps in the 80's!)




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Power Plant?Power Plant?
Power Plant?

Wow, a whole power plant that I can walk around inside of! I bet they use most of their juice to power that huge guitar...
Toothy grin...Toothy grin...
Toothy grin...

For a minute, I thought I was going to be a snack for yet another crazy harbor dweller...until I realized this friendly shark is just smiling...(and has its nose tied tightly to the shore).
High in iron?High in iron?
High in iron?

My goodness, who would want to eat a rusty anything?
Get your feet wet!Get your feet wet!
Get your feet wet!

Ha ha ha, it sure does look like I'm swimming here, doesn't it?
Movin' on up!Movin' on up!
Movin' on up!

Fantastic, an observation deck! I can't imagine a better way to take in all of this fine city...
All the way up?All the way up?
All the way up?

My goodness, that's tall. I sure hope they have an elevator...or at least an escalator. I love those things!
Tall, taller and tallest!Tall, taller and tallest!
Tall, taller and tallest!

I have to admit that I'm used to towering over everything, so seeing all these skyscrapers certainly was intimidating...until now. I'm glad I finally get to have the last laugh!
The ballparks!The ballparks!
The ballparks!

Camden Yards and Ravens Stadium! What I wouldn't give to score tickets and see a few games in both parks. Although, of course nothing can top actually playing at the Baysox stadium...)
Home, Sweet Home (sort of)Home, Sweet Home (sort of)
Home, Sweet Home (sort of)

Eight thousand miles? That's all? Certainly seems I've come further than that. Unfortunately, it must have been cloudy in Africa because I can't make out any of Johannesburg in the distance...
Hold on...Hold on...
Hold on...

Wait a second, I remember that guitar...not so big now, are ya?
Ahhh...Ahhh...
Ahhh...

What a gorgeous view of the harbor and Fort McHenry!
Foreshadowing?Foreshadowing?
Foreshadowing?

Hmmm...Philadelphia? Ninety-three miles? That's just a short stroll. I wonder if there's anything good to see up there?
"...A Dream Within A Dream""...A Dream Within A Dream"
"...A Dream Within A Dream"

Well, it's not in the Inner Harbor, but my friend the Poe Turtle just insisted that I stop and pay my respects to this literary legend...alas, I forgot my cognac and roses.


24th August 2006

A Literary Giraffe?
I wonder if we've met mr. Spot. I too have frequented that exact spot.. perhaps with a mutual friend? Hmmm? Keep me abreast of your travels. Ha, I said "a breast"....
25th August 2006

I, for one, am certainly jealous!
Well Spot, it looks like you are having a grand time on your LOA. Wish we all could be enjoying them with you. I have to admit, though, when I first came in the room a few weeks ago and saw you'd gone missing, I was just a tad concerned. But Diane said, "Not to worry, you were simply taking some time to broaden your horizons". Although I personally think that a fellow with your height would have a pretty broad horizon most of the time, anyways! I can understand, though (although? . . . no I think it's 'though' in this case), how watching your humans come and go each morning, evening, and their noon feeding time would get a bit wearisome. So make the most of it. You did mention Philadelphia. I would take the liberty now that you have your independence, and sign on for a trip to see it. I've heard that it really is all it's cracked up to be. And it would give you an excuse to visit the great state of Pennsylvania. Maybe you could swing back through the Amish country on your way home. Oh, and a word about Melvin - The little fellow seemed a bit nervous at first, what with all that new responsibility and all, but I really think he's up to it. It'll be a real 'growth opportunity' for him and I firmly believe he'll measure up. Not to worry about losing your spot though. No one could do the job with quite the same aplomb you bring to it. Anyways, your humans will soon be migrating to their autumn range, so things are getting exciting. And of course, Diane and the others have already started making plans for fun things to do once they get there. I'm told by reliable sources that Victoria and the others already have a position selected for you when they return on their winter migration. Keep your chin up, Jim
29th August 2006

Labor Day Weekend
I hope you have some exciting plans for this weekend. It's a long holiday weekend. I hear it may rain but the weatherman haven't been right for three weeks so soak up the sun. I'd stay away from Ocean City - too many people - they'd be gawking at you and that's such a human attribute. Of course humans gawk at my wonderful physique - I am a dog you know! Perhaps you should go to the Naval Academy - they have such cool uniforms - I bet you'd look sharp in one!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb