Historic Annapolis Pub Crawl


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Annapolis
November 3rd 2023
Published: November 2nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

Along with the rich history and landmarks of Annapolis, there is no shortage of historic pubs. It is, after all, a University town with the Naval Academy, and St. John's College nearby. I have enjoyed my previous visits here, mostly thanks to Dirty Pat and Mrs. Pat. This trip should be no different. First stop is Galway Bay Irish Restaurant, though I only know the bar. It helps that the spunky, blonde bartender helps (tries to) keep Dirty Pat in line (as best anyone can). But it is a friendly bunch of locals who frequent the place, making us feel quite welcome. It is my favorite, after the oyster bars in town. The building was built in 1897.


The next several stops are optional:
The Drummer's Lot, tucked away in the Maryland Inn., open since 1784, with their bourbon Old Fashioned their signature drink.
Ram's Head Tavern, once known as the Crown and Dial Tavern, and home to seasonal beers, and their signature Bloody Mary.
The Federal House Bar and Grill, founded in 1830, with patrons known as Fed Heads, their signature drink is the Champagne Super Nova. I must try it!
Historic 1747 Pub, was the original kitchen and hat shop of Captain William Reynolds. Their signature drink is George Washington's eggnog.


Middleton Tavern, founded in 1750, is one of the oldest continuously operating taverns in America. It is famous for their oysters, infamous piano bar, and draft beers.
Harold Black, a baby since founded last year, with a festive Italian menu, located at, of all places, Church Circle.
Parley Room in the historic Capital Hotel, recently renovated after about 300 years, and known for their charcuterie boards.
The Boatyard Bar and Grill is another of our favorites, along with O'Brien's for their 99-cent oyster happy hour. OBs was established in 1774, near the landing place of Kunte Kinte. It has gone through five names before ending up as O'Brien's. The Boatyard has only been around since 2001, but Dirty Pat convinced them I am either a Senator or Congressman from Hawaii.
I think you can tell that we have our "work" cut out for us. I am here from Thursday to Monday only, so we may hit several each day or night, unless Dirty Pat makes me lecture again out at the University. I am in oyster heaven!
But it is always a great time, I love it back here. Though I will never be an east coast guy, I do enjoy my visits here, mostly due to Dirty and Mrs. Pat. They make the trip so much fun!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.386s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 34; qc: 158; dbt: 0.2516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb