Getting there


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
July 9th 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So much has happened since my last post! I finished moving and riding myself of all my junk at the very last possible moment. On the day before I left for the trail me and my Mom spent the day finishing up moving the last of my crap and cleaning out my place for my security deposit inspection. That afternoon I went skydiving! It was the last possible opportunity to go before my trip (I tried several times but poor weather left me on the ground, week after week) After skydiving in the afternoon, me and Dave headed back to Rochester on an emergency mission to rid myself of my Audi. I would have kept it, but storage was a problem. I lucked out the Scirocco Steve got my message that I needed to get rid of it cheep. I could have sold it to the upstairs neighbor, but I would rather it go to someone who would appreciate it. It was late by the time we got back to Buffalo and there was no time for sleep. I had to start packing because it was 1am and I planed to leave at 3am. Of course we didn't get started till 5 but it was as close to schedule as I could possibly make it. Me and Dave slept while my parents drove. (wow this is a long story) We stopped in at the LLBean main store up here in Maine and I picked up some last minute gear. I had decided that a Titanium pot would be better than my aluminum pan. The last leg of our trip was a disaster and it was mainly my fault. I had the GPS on my laptop and figured it would follow that to where we planed to leave Dave's car. Apparently the GPS thought that logging roads that dead end into swamps and travel through waist high creeks were reasonable roads to take average daily driver type cars. This unfortunately caused about a 3 hour delay because we had to do some serious backtracking to get to main roads that would take us there. A stay at the Bear Claw motel was necessary and we headed for Katahdin the next morning.

Advertisement



10th July 2008

Get well soon
I just talked to you and you told me all about your knee. I hope resting for a few days helps and you have the strength to finish. We are all routing for you at home and we all miss you. Enjoy a beer tonight and I will see you in 6 months.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb