Day 13 and 14


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
July 4th 2008
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

July Third

A glance at the schedules showed that I only had to be in the computer room for two of five possible periods in the day. Excellent! The only snag was that I was required to supervise campers at other activities for two of the remaining three. Given a free choice, I went to archery where the campers grew bored after half an hour, leaving me and a few more dedicated ones free reign of the targets and bows for the remaining half hour. I was appalling – until we realised I was standing too close to the targets to be able to aim properly from my height. Then I improved.

In the evening I got my cake. Having had the 'tune' of happy birthday irreparably etch itself into my ears, I went to cut the cake with the knife provided. As I did this, the knife was grabbed from me and taken back to the kitchen. I was then told to take the cake back to kitchen where it was to be cut for me by someone my age as I watched. It was then handed back to me. So in spite of being 19, and in spite of having cooked for myself for almost a year; I am unqualified to cut a birthday cake on health and safety grounds

July Forth

Every morning, one must stand through flagpole. In this ceremony, some meaningless prattle (some sporting scores – though I'm still not sure quite which one). Then a group of people are, at length, invited to hoist the flag before the important business of breakfast begins. Today being the 4th of July, America is celebrating independence – so all the English counselors were called upon the hoist the flag. I took a pathetic delight in tying it at a more appropriate half mast. Sadly, it didn't last long in this position 😞

Tonight though, a firework extravaganza is promised as we visit a nearby girls camp. Refer to previous entry for likely course of events, but with the added joy of children. It's my guess that they'll all be chasing girls – just some with more malice than others...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb