Canoing the Sebasticook: From Burnham to Benton


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
May 23rd 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So in preparation for the Northern Forest Canoe Trail (which I start on June 1) my friend Tom O'Donnell and I took my uncle John's canoe out for a nice outing along the Sebasticook, we put in a couple of miles after the damn and started our way towards the very lazy, very windy, very wide Sebasticook river. The black fly hatch was pretty bad that day and I actually ended up wearing a head net to keep them from devouring my face. But what can you expect in late May in the middle of bug season. The trip is pretty sweet and there are a couple of Class II rips in the river that are fun to go down, but MAN is the river slow in parts. It was like canoing a large freaking lake! We got out in Benton right above the Sebasticook damn (which they may remove in the future and some Stripers may actually get a chance to swim up to Newport). Anyway I would like to share with you some pictures of the trip before I get on the road to Natick, MA where I will start my journey along the NFCT.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Black FlyBlack Fly
Black Fly

Doing what they do best, eating you.
The SebasticookThe Sebasticook
The Sebasticook

From the put in, in Burnam
Tom O'D!Tom O'D!
Tom O'D!

Ain't he cute?


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb