Oh the weekend!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maine
September 18th 2005
Published: September 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

LighthouseLighthouseLighthouse

This may be the most photographed lighthouse in the world. Have you seen it? I have:)

I spent the past weekend in Biddeford, ME (that’s Maine for all of you who don’t have your abbreviations memorized). We had a very smooth and easy, two hour ride on Amtrak to Meaghan’s hometown. Both Sr. Maria and I had never been to Maine so this was an adventure. Friday night we drove around Portland, ME (setting of many of Stephen King books) and looked at the HUGE OLD houses. They are massive homes of former maritime workers. Then, we went to the Portland Art Museum. Every Friday afternoon it is free to the public. Currently they are featuring a Rockwell Kent exhibit. You should check him out. For dinner that night, I possibly had the best pizza I’ve ever had in my life. It was a frozen pizza from Sams club. It was delicious.
Maine turned out to be everything I’ve imagined. It was overcast, dizzily skies (much different from what they have had recently; no blue skies), and I wore a sweatshirt to stay warm. We went to a couple different beaches. The waves crashed against huge rocks formed by glaciers at one beach, and at another the waves gently rolled onto the white sand. I
HUGE ROCKSHUGE ROCKSHUGE ROCKS

Here's Maria walking on the huge rocks that the ocean crashes against!
preferred the rocky waterfront. There was a fisherman in bright orange raingear fishing off the cliffs into the ocean. The salty air and fisherman really made it feel like I was in the book “The Shipping News”, even though the book takes place in Newfoundland. We visited a couple of lighthouses, including the most photographed lighthouse in the world. When were visiting one of the lighthouses, there was a rented RV with pictures of Yosemite, Arches NP, and the lighthouse we were currently visiting painted on the side of the vehicle. I got a good chuckle out of it, and hoped the people driving the RV noticed the likeness.
Saturday night we had a feast. Meaghan’s dad Peter, who is from Ghana, made us a fantastic dinner. We had his special fajitas. Meaghan’s mom, who loves wine, provided some beverages. A couple of Meaghan’s aunt’s and uncles were there and they also brought wonderful food. It was a great celebration.


Tonight is my last night staying at 347 Grove Street. I leave tomorrow morning at 9AM for Kingston. I’m extremely excited to be finally arriving in Jamaica. The time has finally come for me to go! At the same time of my excitement, I am also very sad because tonight is my last chance to talk to my friends and family on the phone for quite awhile. This will be challenging for me but I am going to Jamaica for a challenge. What would it be without it? Nothing.
So this is me signing off until I’ve visited the beach a couple of times and I can share my first experiences of Jamaica. Until then, WALK GOOD (that’s Jamaican for walk safely, no harm etc).
COOL RUNNINGS!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Maine VillageMaine Village
Maine Village

I call this a Maine Fishing Village...it's what i always thought it would be:).
Meaghan and IMeaghan and I
Meaghan and I

I thought it was only appropriate to wear a Maine sweatshirt while i was in Maine!
Maria and Meaghan's momMaria and Meaghan's mom
Maria and Meaghan's mom

Doesn't this seem like "the shipping news"?


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 72; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb