BMA camp


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana
September 13th 2016
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 32.3283, -93.2797

This posting was NOT proof-read by Glenn, so please disregard any grammatical mistakes that I have posted.

We got up early, like around 5am and left for the last leg on our trip. Since we had lunch planned with Savana at her school in Shreveport at noon, we had to leave early enough to have enough time to walk through BMA camp, Miracle Camp.

We were greeted by the new camp director. He mentioned that BMA went bankrupt in 1994. The day BMA was going to "give" the camp over to Awana, there was a car accident and a person was killed. Awana decided not to take the "camp" because of pending litigations of law suits and stuff.

BMA camp was finally purchased by a church in Kansas City and then the camp part was "broken off" from the church several years later. The new Camp name is Southland Christian Camp

BMA Camp has a special place in my heart. I first attended there in 1969, right after I became a Christian. In order to attend, you would have to recite 12-16 verses a week for 12 weeks. I started out with Bible Memory Association 3 months after I became I christian. It
was a great foundation for my Christian walk.

I remember being in Youth Book 1 and reciting most of the book of John. To this day, I can recite a large portion of the scripture. Of course it was in King James Version.

I was at camp the last year the old Wooden dining hall was being used. I also remember taking a school bus from Scofield Memorial Church, back when it was down near Dallas Seminary. Dr. Lightner would drive.

I became a junior Whitefoot, then a regular Whitefoot. I would stay up to 4 weeks at camp there. And the summer of my freshman year at Moody, I was on staff at BMA camp. I roomed with Priscilla Jones Dark. I made 30.00 a week. (Yes, 30.00 a week)

I'm grateful for the friendships I made at camp, the teaching I sat under there during the formative years, and the and gained a great appreciation of the scriptures.




Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb