26 days... As of tomorrow


Advertisement
Published: April 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey y'all.

None of you even know I'm doing this travel blog 'cause I haven't sent you the link yet. Ah well. Once I leave, I hope this will serve as a point of communication; 'till then, it's just another outlet for my daydreams.

In the meantime, I thought I might post the photos from another recent trip I made - to New Orleans. I think it's important to get these out there for the sake of bearing witness, at the very least. What happened in that magical city is a tragedy of incomprehensible proportion and what remains is a morbid juxtaposition of life, color, energy and death, ghosts, and horror. I was there one week and left with a seething sense of anger; my tax dollars go to see 20-year olds to their death in Iraq, but could not be extended to save the life of an 80 year old black woman in New Orleans. It's a truth that needs to be spoken.

So, take a look - and then sign up to join me in my volunteer time down there. I'll be gutting houses in early June.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

St. Patty's CabbageSt. Patty's Cabbage
St. Patty's Cabbage

Apparently, it's tradition for folks in the St. Patrick's Day parade to pelt the crowd with cabbages. A day later, all sorts of vegetable material littered the streets...
Door to Nowhere...Door to Nowhere...
Door to Nowhere...

... cause the rest blew away.
Keep OutKeep Out
Keep Out

Of what?
9 Remain9 Remain
9 Remain

1 DOA 9 Remain 1 Cabbage in Driveway


12th April 2006

reconstruction
why won't the US government reconstruction their own country?
12th April 2006

My, what a good question!
Well, now. We do like to get to the point, don't we? I can't say I really know the answer there, but I'm guessing that it might have something to do with all the money and attention my "government" is directing towards destroying the lives of countless other poor souls across the globe. It's a matter of simple economics: if you spend all your money on booze, you got no bucks to feed the kids. Plus, these "kids" in question happened to be the poorest (and almost not-whitest) in our country, so The Man isn't interested.

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb