Adventuring in N'Awlins . . .


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » New Orleans
February 2nd 2009
Published: February 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My time on the Fantasy is quickly coming to an end. Today is the first day of my last cruise here. My replacement (a new director who I’ll be training) has arrived today. Everything is set for my transfer. I’m really heading off soon.

And so today was my last chance to see New Orleans. Erica is also eager to get out and see things, so the two of us pulled ourselves out of bed this morning at a decent hour to get out and about around the city. Aside from the French Quarter, the one area I really wanted to see was the Garden District, an area known for it’s large old Southern homes. So that was our first mission. We hopped on one of the city’s old streetcars. It took us through the Central Business District first, then soon the new buildings were fewer and fewer and then we were passing by beautiful old houses. They’re all so pretty. I love this type of architecture. I wish I had more time here. I would love to go on a historical tour of the city. I love those sorts of things. And I know a fair amount of history for New Orleans because of it’s connections to french culture, Acadian history and the seven years war. But I found myself wondering about different things, guessing the answer, and then wishing I could know for sure if I was even close. Oh well. I guess another day?

We rode the streetcar to the end of the line. There was a drugstore at the end stop, so we went there to take care of some of the life errands we needed to do that day. Then back on the streetcar, we retraced our route, ending back at the edge of the French Quarter.

So up to Bourbon Street we went. In New Orleans, you are allowed to drink in the streets, as long as you’re drinking from the right type of container (no glass or bottles). No wonder Mardi Gras is such a party! Now I may be missing out on Mardi Gras, but I wanted to say that I drank on Bourbon Street. All along the street are bars advertising all of my favourite drinks - different sweet frozen concoctions. Nearly every bar has machines churning frozen drinks in the way you’d see slushie machines in convenience stores. We stopped in one that looked fun enough and I got myself (of course) a mango daiquiri. Then we had to take a photo of me standing in the middle of the street with my drink!

After that, we just wandered around the streets some more. Stopping in shops that looked interesting. Going down to Jackson Sqaure to take some photos. Walked for a bit along the water. Stopped at Café du Monde so I could have one more dose of beignets. I picked up a little souvenir for me and the hottest hot sauce I could find for a friend of mine who loves his hot sauce. We grabbed a quick lunch in the mall by the ship (mmmm sushi!). And then it was back to the ship for work.

I may not be an expert on New Orleans, but I can say now that I’ve been there. I did my best to see what I could in the time that I had here. It’s such a great city.

Now it’s time for the last cruise on the Fantasy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb