Bluegrass


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky
September 10th 2006
Published: September 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I should be in West Virginia within a couple days. Kentucky is big when you have to snake through it the way I've been. At least I'm out of Louisville I suppose. Today I'm back in Lexington at one of my preferred Starbucks locations. I was in the vicinity of the city so I decided to drink some real coffee for a change. The coffee out here is terrible. Like the instant coffee in your office that someone left in the back of the cabinet by the water cooler. Wretched. Southern California spoiled me with an abundance of that triumphant bean, so I can't really blame this region for its lacks.

I've found that what makes me happy out here is not necessarily getting a lot done in a day. Its when I'm able to chat with locals that I feel rehumanized from this past month of social depravity. I always get asked what I'm doing out here. Photographing banks. Or I say I'm a geographer. One man told me he could get me a job at a coal mine mapping trenches and such. I think I'll pass for now.

Its easier to avoid the cyclical nihilism that the
primitive campingprimitive campingprimitive camping

as they call it
road life brings now that I have sattellite radio and GPS. I feel like there's a big shiny sattellite sitting in the passenger seat, both navigator and DJ. I get to hear certain radio channels wherever I am, so when I go way out in the "country" at least I've got familiar songs. This can be problematic at times, as my goal has never been to cocoon myself from the differences of these places. There's a point at which being well-equipped for travel prevents one from really being part of a place. While the pace of my adventure may inhibit that to begin with, I hope I can avoid being withdrawn from everything except my work and my vehicle.

The vehicle, being my vessel of thousands of miles and the possession which encompasses all others out here, has become a freind of sorts. To have rented a car in every major city would have negated the connections that the Jeep brings to the present- the lineage of all the places I've ever been in that vehicle, one after the other, and many thousands more to come.

People need to start calling me. I don't care if you spoke
the Can Man!the Can Man!the Can Man!

look closely at this one
to me just once and are wondering why I'm you're Facebook friend (I'd wonder why youve read this far if that's the case). Just do it. Prank call me. Harrass me. Or just say hello.

805-276-3476

-Kevin


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

unwelcome guestunwelcome guest
unwelcome guest

scariest moment of the trip thus far: evil hornet flies into car and hits my shoulder while driving. proceeds to fly around the jeep while i pull over and jump out.
Kentucky LakeKentucky Lake
Kentucky Lake

camped here


10th September 2006

hi i just stumbled onto your site because i love ky. may i ask what kind of location you are looking for cause theres some beautiful places you cant see from the highway in western ky. did you see madisonville? dawson springs? or beulah!!!!!!! you would love them lol thanks for letting me peek into your trip it looks very interesting.
10th September 2006

oh ya i forgot the ever popular possum trot !!!!!!!!!!!! lmao
11th September 2006

dude
I like the titles of your pics... where's hrum street?
12th September 2006

Techie help needed!
Hey Kev! I loved your latest commentary--thanks for the great glimpse of what you're living! How do we get to see the video???? Stay clear of the lightning!
21st September 2006

clipboard
looks like you took that from gorian. i see soil samples all over it. ps. fuck hornets

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb