A Brave New World


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Richmond
July 6th 2016
Published: July 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Two years ago, I would have never dreamed that I would consider traveling across the country by myself, but that is just what I did.

​My husband had been working in North Dakota for two months and I was working in a small town in central Texas. It was December and I wasn't about to let him spend the Christmas holidays by himself, so I loaded up my car and headed north.

​It took me three days, but it was so worth it. Not only did I get to see my husband who I missed desperately, but I proved to myself that I could travel alone.

​Now I would not recommend setting out on your first solo trip in the dead of winter, especially when your destination is Tioga, North Dakota, but traveling alone is something everyone should experience at least once in their lifetime.

TIPS FOR TRAVELING ALONE:


• ​Make sure your vehicle is in good condition for your road trip.
• Pack extra clothing, food and water just in case you do find yourself stranded.
• Keep in close contact with family or friends so that someone knows what route you are taking and where you plan to stay.
• Don't make it too obvious that you are traveling alone. When stopping to fuel up or eat, keep your wits about you.
• Enjoy every moment, take it all in and make life long memories.


​The world is a big place. Go out their and explore it!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb