Preparing for Italy- Blog #1


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Richmond
January 2nd 2018
Published: January 3rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

a.) The things I have done to prepare for this trip mentally, physically, and emotionally has been terrible. I honestly have not done too much of anything to prepare for my trip to Italy. Ever since school closed down for winter break I have just been relaxing, and going to work living stress free. This semester was really tough on me trying to stay focus and keep my grades in decent shape up until finals. I think that is why I haven't been so much proactive in preparing for this trip which is not good, and I'll tell you why. For one reason is procrastination, procrastination is every college student's unwanted best friend. Waiting till the last minute to pack can be very frustrating as we all know from previous experience. My dilemma personally is trying to pack as lightly as I can but it just seems impossible! The weight limit at the airport is 50 pounds and I am just worried that I am over packing and that my suitcase is going to weigh more than that. Physically I do not think I'm prepared for this trip because we are going to do a whole lot of walking that will not be comparable to the amount of walking I use to do on campus on my way to class. I already think that I walk a lot at my job because I don't like to just sit behind the register and wait for a customer to come up to purchase their items. Another reason why I think that I am physically not prepared for this trip is because I am just simply out of shape.I cannot even recall the last time I set foot into the Eastern Kentucky University's Recreational Center. So I am looking forward to finding out how much of a lazy American I am, however, this is definitely going to be a rude awakening for me. Oh well, bring it on! Emotionally I am ecstatic to be going on this trip to Florence, Italy. I am so grateful and blessed to have the support from my family and friends along the way. My aunt told me how she was so proud of me for graduating and so happy for me to go on this trip because she didn't have an opportunity like this when she was growing. She said times were very different from now and that it is too late for her, but she can still live it through me. I promised her that I will take pictures of everything so that when I get back and she is looking through them she will feel like she was there. Although I have not been doing my best to completely prepare for this study abroad trip I did manage to get some things accomplished like packing my suitcase with all the essentials I need. I made a list of things to pack and as I was packing my suitcase I would mark it off the list. I will admit that I am a little nervous about this trip and it's mainly the traveling part that has me like this. I'm just so worried about something going wrong in the back of my head. The main thing I am worried about is my luggage getting lost. Just in case that does happen I do plan on putting some clothes in my carry on just to be prepared. You can never not be too prepared is what my mom always tells me. Another worry I have is being pick pocket and having anything that is mine stolen from me because it is just an awful feeling and I feel so violated.

b.) For one week the total steps that I calculated from December 26, 2017- January 2, 2108 is 27,161. On December 26 I took 4,598 steps, on December 27 I took 5,013 steps, on December 28 I took 3,576 steps, on December 29 I took 974 steps, on December 30 I took 7,856 steps, on December 31 I took 2,773 steps, on January 1st I took 1,178 steps, and on January 2 I took 1,193 steps.

c.) On December 29, 2017 I had ate only twice that day which is not healthy for you do. You're suppose to have three meals a day along with three snacks. I skipped breakfast, and my first meal was around lunch time and I had a frozen meal that was a tuna noodle casserole. I didn't eat anything else until around 9 at night, I had went out to eat with some co-workers of mine at TGI Friday's. I got the Friday's combo meal which was boneless chicken with Parmesan garlic sauce on it, mozzarella sticks, and potato skins.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0782s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb