First Few Days In Florence- Blog #2


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 7th 2018
Published: January 7th 2018
Edit Blog Post

These last couple of days have been very tough for me. Ever since we landed here in Florence, Italy I have struggle to keep a smile on my face and enjoy my time here. Internally I am so upset with just how the way things are going overall with me. The day we arrived at the Florence airport I learned that my luggage along with three other girls got lost in Paris. I luckily packed my carry on with just only one outfit to later find out I will not be receiving my bag till Monday. Since we arrived on a Friday that meant three days of wearing the same two outfits until my luggage would be returned to me. The reason why I could not get my luggage sooner because Saturday was a national holiday called the Epiphany and Sunday the school will still be close and that is where my luggage will be delivered. However, because of my professors and friends being understanding of my situation and willing to help, has made it much easier to deal with this. I honestly cannot express the love and appreciation I have for the people who has been willing to help me out during this unfortunate time. When we all first got here we went to our apartments and learned how to lock and unlock our doors and how to carefully function things in our apartment, like the stove for example you have to turn the gas on before turning on the burner. After that me, DaMonec, Taylor, and Erin went to meet up with Dr. Bush to go to the currency exchange so that Taylor could exchange her U.S. dollars to Euros. Once that was done we headed back towards the apartment to get ready for the welcoming dinner later that night. The dinner that night was absolutely delicious to me. I am pretty sure I was the only one to eat everything that was given to me. Plus we were all given red wine that was a little bit strong to me but I still continued to drink it. The next morning we all had to meet our professors to get a small tour of where our school would be at for class and where the market was to buy groceries and many other merchandise as well like scarves. After the mini tour me and DaMonec went exploring on our own before the parade started to celebrate the national holiday called Epiphany. I really enjoyed the parade from what I could see because being 4'10 in a crowd just does not mix very well. After the parade a lady that was begging for change pinched me for ignoring her. It took everything in me not to do the absolute worst to this woman but I kept my cool and walked away. I am not okay with ANYONE putting their hands on me in a way were I feel like I have to defend myself. With that being said I am really having trouble getting accustom to the rudeness around here. It is so weird because it is like no one has a problem with it. I love how a lot of the window displays for the retailers are so well thought out. To me it seems like the Asians have a real cool sense of style and they are all unique in their own way. The things I have enjoyed the most about being here is Dr. Bush's daughter taking us to this bar where we can buy a drink and get food along with it for a decent price I am more likely to go back to that place again, going to the hookah bar with DaMonec and just talking, going to Pisa, and the food of course. I have set a goal for myself not to eat any American foods while I am here I know it is just the beginning but so far so good. Today I have walked a total of 27,037 steps, yesterday Saturday 6, 2018 I walked a total of 14,285 steps, and Friday 5, 2018 I walked a total of 11,874 steps. Way more than what I walked before I came on this trip. Tomorrow is a new day and my first day of class. I am so excited to start school here and I look forward to learning about the Italian language and culture so I can understand it better. Another goal I have for myself is to not get lost anymore in Florence I want to learn this area like it is the back of my hand. If I do get lost again just know I have my best friend by my side at all times to remind me that everything is okay.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb